Skip to main content

About the Macdonald-Kelce Library at the University of Tampa: John F. Germany Library

A User's Guide to the Macdonald-Kelce Library

Become a library member

UT students are welcome to join the Hillsborough County Public Library Cooperative (HCPLC), the nearest branch of which is the John F. Germany Library across the river (i.e. the downtown public library). To use services and check out items UT students first need to get a free library card. You can get a card by presenting your current UT student ID and a piece of mail addressed to your current Tampa address (see more here about How to Get a Library Card).

Database Collection

Learning and Research: Use the databases available through membership in the HCPLC  as a supplement to the collection available to the UT community. See a list of databases here.

Lynda.com is a popular video tutorial collection available to HCPLC members. Thousands of video courses by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills are available.

Florida Electronic Library: Another database collection supported by the Florida Department of State's Division of Library and Information Services. This collection of databases and information resources is available to anyone within the state of Florida.

The University of Tampa's database collection is here and is available to members of the UT community by logging into Esearch. If you have any questions about a resource, or accessing information, please contact a librarian at the Macdonald-Kelce Library.

Meeting Space

Collaborative space for group projects and presentations: "The Hive offers a variety of collaborative workspaces and tools with free access to screen-sharing technology, power outlets, and whiteboards."

Meeting Spaces: Some meeting spaces are available. When considering use of these meeting spaces, keep in mind the following constraints - "Meeting room spaces are primarily intended to be used for library related functions. All other use of meeting spaces must be free and open to the public."

Meeting spaces not in use or scheduled for use may be used as study rooms and are available on a walk-up, first come, first served basis.

The Hive

A recording studio, robotics center, collaboration space, sewing machines, and 3D printers are all available just across the river. Check out John F. Germany's The Hive.

Collaborative space for group projects and presentations: "The Hive offers a variety of collaborative workspaces and tools with free access to screen-sharing technology, power outlets, and whiteboards."

Makerspace: "The Makerspace is a community work space for building, tinkering, fabricating, and creating. Build a prototype. Work on small-scale electrical and mechanical projects. Create jewelry or program a circuit. BYOM (bring your own materials) or attend a library event and learn something new."

Recording Studio: "Library Recording Studios provide tools and software for recording and editing audio/video projects. Cameras, green screens, microphones, and editing software are available for free."

Robotics Center: "The Hive features a Robotics Center, a work space and scrimmage zone for teams participating in FIRST, VEX, BEST, or any variety of robotics programs."

 

Books and Movies

With a library card the public library's books and movies are also available.

More collections that may be of interest are the Burgert Brothers photo collection of 20th century Tampa, Florida History collection, and the Genealogy collection. The history collection is a particularly strong resource for local history.