Skip to main content

About the Macdonald-Kelce Library at the University of Tampa: Books

A User's Guide to the Macdonald-Kelce Library

Length of Checkout Time

Students are allowed to check out items for six weeks (or until the end of the semester if the semester end is less than six weeks away).

Faculty and staff are allowed to check out items until the end of the academic year.

HOW TO RENEW ITEMS YOU'VE CHECKED OUT

Go to the Online Catalog. At the top of that screen you'll see a place to log in. After you log in you'll be able to see what items you have checked out and you can re-new them. If someone has recalled the item you have checked out you will not be able to renew it.

What do I do if a book I want is checked out?

If the book you want is checked out search for the title in the Online Catalog. Using the link at the top of the page, log in to the online catalog and request a "hold." When the book is returned to the library, it will be held for you and you will be notified. A hold also prevents the patron with the item from renewing the return date.

How to Find Books in the Library

On the library's front page the link to search for books is the Online Catalog under the left-hand Resources column.

Library catalogs used to be an actual catalog (i.e. a list bound in a book) of books. They were created to help people locate the items they were looking for without having to search the entire collection.

Then someone realized it would be easier to give every book its own card, rather than a page in a book. This collection of cards became known as the card catalog.

Now that we use electronic databases instead of cards we call this resource an online catalog. Someday maybe we'll change the name to "book database" or something more descriptive, but for now use the online catalog to find ebooks, books (and other physical items like DVDs, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, and microfiche) in the library.

A Guide to Finding Books in the Library

First Floor - Most of the books on the first floor are for reference purposes and are in-library use only (except the books in the Florida Military Collection which are available to check out).

Reserves - For some classes professors place books on Reserve. Reserve books can be found at the Circulation Desk.

Second Floor - This is the MAIN collection. All the books in the MAIN collection are available to check out (or to use inside the library).

The Call Number - On the spine of every book is an alpha-numeric code. This code is the Library of Congress Call Number. As a way of organizing information every book is assigned a letter-number combination. Books are then arranged alphabetically (and then numerically) by the Library of Congress Call Number you'll find on its spine. EX: PQ7797.B635 Z635 1969 is the Library of Congress Call Number for a book titled Conversations with Jorge Luis Borges.

In order to find this book on the shelf head to the second floor. At the end of each aisle you'll see signage indicating which letters are on that row of books. Once you find the row with PQ look for the shelves with PQ7797. Once you find this group then look more closely for the book with PQ7797.B635 Z635 1969 on the spine. Frequently the final four digits (in this case 1969) is the year of publication. If you don't find the book where it is supposed to be (and the online catalog shows that it is on the shelf) look on the shelf above where it belongs, the shelf below, and to the right and left of the proper location. Occasionally books are mis-shelved. If you still don't find it ask at the Circulation Desk or ask a librarian for assistance. If a book is lost we may be able to borrow it from another library for you.

Once you've located the book, look around at the books near-by, they are often on the same topic and may be useful.

What if the library doesn't own the book I want?

See the information on the Interlibrary Loan tab.

What if the book I want is lost?

See the information under the Interlibrary Loan tab.