Articles can come from newspapers and magazines, or from more scholarly sources, like trade journals and peer-reviewed journals. The most convenient way to search for articles is through a database, which allows you to search thousands of articles simultaneously. The library subscribes to many different databases, and those listed below offer the best coverage of criminology topics.
When you are researching academic topics, look for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. These articles are of a very high quality, since they have gone through a rigorous editing system to ensure the validity of the claims made by the author. Many databases offer you the option of limiting your search to peer-reviewed articles only. Always be cognizant of the source your information comes from; look at the title of the publication and the credentials of the author.
Each database listed below allows you to search hundreds of journals simultaneously. In order to access full-text articles, you will need to log-in to eSearch before linking to a database.
Academic Search Complete - Academic Search Complete provides comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,990 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,030 peer-reviewed journals. This database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,990 journals and a total of more than 10,400 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Access World News Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. The search engine provides researchers with the ability to gather information from one source or country, or any combination specified by the user.
Criminal Law Reporter - This source follows all matters in the field of criminal law. You will be able to get a national perspective on the latest issues, including actions and proposals by the Justice Department, U.S. Sentencing Commission, and other federal agencies, significant federal criminal legislation, appointments to federal offices, etc. (At this time this database is only available on campus)
FORENSICnetBASE Source that contains content from world’s premier forensic science publications from CRC Press. These electronic reference books provide information on forensic analysis, criminal justice, law, law enforcement, counter-terrorism, etc.
GPO Access - provides free online use of over 1,500 databases of Federal information in over 80 applications. A general search page provides the opportunity for searching one or multiple GPO Access databases from a single page, while specialized search pages allow you to perform more detailed searches.
Jstor This source is a scholarly journal archive. Jstor provides full text image content for 322 titles in subject areas such as African American Studies, Language and Literature, Sociology, Philosophy, etc.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe - Provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs, including: National and regional newspapers, U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, Shepard’s Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789, Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news. Try out the new Lexis Nexis interface click here
NCJRS - National Criminal Justice Reference Service is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide
New York Times access - For historical New York Times database (1851-2005), with full page and article images, and searchable full text back to the first issue click here. For New York Times digital microfilm (2008-date), with full page and article images, click here. For text-only (no images), 1980-date, click here (Lexis Nexis). For text only (no images), 2000-date click here (Access World News). If you require full page reproductions and/or images for years 2006-2007, please use our microfilm collection.
ProQuest One of the most comprehensive databases available online. Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, literature, political science, and psychology. The database has a backfile dating back to 1986 and a deep backfile going back to earlier centuries.
PsycARTICLES Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycINFO - from the American Psychological Association, contains citations and summaries of articles from 1700 journals, plus books, chapters, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and related fields, published worldwide from 1887-present.
Sage Premier - This site includes the full-text of 24 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 86 years, encompassing over 20,400 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence. To access just the Criminology material in Sage click on the Browse tab at the top of the Sage Premier front page, then choose Journals by Discipline. Click on the + sign next to Social Sciences & Humanities then choose Criminology and Criminal Justice to select a specific criminology journal.
SOCINDEX with full text - The database features more than 1,910,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 397 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 150 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 720 books and monographs, and full text for 6,743 conference papers
SpringerLink - SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, E-books and reference works. This database covers materials in the scientific, technological and medical areas of study.