Skip to main content

Criminology: Websites

Get started on your criminology research here.

Websites

Congress.gov (formerly THOMAS.gov (Library of Congress) - This website provides access to legislative information, including Bills & Resolutions, Activity in Congress, the Congressional Record, Committee Reports, and resources for learning about the legislative process.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service - NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering crime and justice related research, policy, and practice information related to juvenile and criminal justice, victim assistance, drug policy, and NCJRS services. Mostly full-text.

National Criminal Justice Thesaurus - The subject index for the NCJRS database.

United States Department of Justice Resources - link includes Publications A-Z and Publications by Agency. Full-text reports and government sponsored research are included at this website.

Florida Department of Corrections & Florida Department of Law Enforcement  

Interpol - The world’s largest international police organization with 187 member countries.

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime - Contains the annual World Drug Report.

Human Rights Watch - Monitors human rights violations around the world.

Amnesty International - Tracks government corruption, prisoner treatment, human trafficking, human rights abuses, and more.

Innocence Project - The Innocence Project is a national litigation and public policy organization dedicated to exonerating wrongfully convicted individuals through DNA testing and reforming the criminal justice system to prevent future injustice.

Uniform Crime Reports - FBI - Contains Crime in the United States (CIUS), an annual publication in which the FBI compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies. This report also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data. Also included in the UCR are Hate Crime Statistics and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics - The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 200 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Note: The Sourcebook ceased physical publication in 2002 and has been integrated into the Bureau of Justice Statistics website.

Sunlight Foundation's Hall of Justice - "A robust, searchable inventory of publicly available criminal justice datasets and research."

Government Agencies

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives Bureau of Justice Assistance - A unique law enforcement agency in the United States Department of Justice that protects our communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products.

Central Intelligence Agency - The CIA is an independent agency responsible for providing national security intelligence to senior US policymakers.

Drug Enforcement Administration  - The mission of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) is to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States and bring to the criminal and civil justice system of the United States, or any other competent jurisdiction, those organizations and principal members of organizations, involved in the growing, manufacture, or distribution of controlled substances appearing in or destined for illicit traffic in the United States; and to recommend and support non-enforcement programs aimed at reducing the availability of illicit controlled substances on the domestic and international markets.

Department of Homeland Security - Homeland Security leverages resources within federal, state, and local governments, coordinating the transition of multiple agencies and programs into a single, integrated agency focused on protecting the American people and their homeland.

Department of Justice - The DOJ was created to enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans.

Federal Bureau of Investigation - As a threat-based and intelligence-driven national security organization, the mission of the FBI is to protect and defend the United States against terrorist and foreign intelligence threats, to uphold and enforce the criminal laws of the United States, and to provide leadership and criminal justice services to federal, state, municipal, and international agencies and partners.

National Institute of Justice - NIJ is the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice.

National Security Agency - The NSA/CSS core missions are to protect U.S. national security systems and to produce foreign signals intelligence information.

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention - The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) provides national leadership, coordination, and resources to prevent and respond to juvenile delinquency and victimization.

Office of National Drug Control Policy - The principal purpose of ONDCP is to establish policies, priorities, and objectives for the Nation's drug control program. The goals of the program are to reduce illicit drug use, manufacturing, and trafficking, drug-related crime and violence, and drug-related health consequences.
Office for Victims of Crime - OVC supports a broad array of programs and services that focus on helping victims in the immediate aftermath of crime and continuing to support them as they rebuild their lives.

Transportation Security Administration - The Transportation Security Administration protects the Nation's transportation systems to ensure freedom of movement for people and commerce.

U.S. Customs and Border Protection - CBP's mission is to keep terrorists and their weapons out of the U.S. It also has a responsibility for securing and facilitating trade and travel while enforcing hundreds of U.S. regulations, including immigration and drug laws.

U.S. Department of Immigration and Customs Enforcement - Immigration and Customs Enforcement is the principal investigative arm of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the second largest investigative agency in the federal government.

U.S. Marshalls Service - Protecting federal judicial officials — judges, attorneys and jurors — is a core mission for the U.S. Marshals. Among their many duties, they apprehend federal fugitives, protect the federal judiciary, operate the Witness Security Program, transport federal prisoners and seize property acquired by criminals through illegal activities.

United States Secret Service - The mission of the United States Secret Service is to safeguard the nation's financial infrastructure and payment systems to preserve the integrity of the economy, and to protect national leaders, visiting heads of state and government, designated sites and National Special Security Events.