Skip to main content

Criminology: Books

Get started on your criminology research here.

Reference Books

Reference Books

Reference Books include encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other works which function as manuals, guides and overviews of your field. Here are some of the reference books which you will find in the Criminology section, HV6000-HV9000.

To access E-Books, you must first log-in to eSearch.

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice E-Book

Encyclopedia of Serial Killers, 2nd ed. REF HV6245 .N49 2006

World Police Encyclopedia REF HV7901. W64 2006

Prisons and Prison Systems: A Global Encyclopedia REF HV8665 .R67 2006

Sage Dictionary of Criminology REF HV6017 .S24 2006

Encyclopedia of Race and Crime REF HV6789 .E43 2009

Crime Classification Manual: a Standard System for Investigating and Classifying Violent Crimes REF HV6253 .C75 2013

  Interlibrary Loan

You can search for books that other local libraries own by visiting WorldCat. If the Macdonald-Kelce Library does not have the book or article you are looking for, we will request the item from another library. This process is called Interlibrary Loan. You can make an Interlibrary Loan request by filling out the required form in the library. Ask for one at the reference desk.

E-Books

E-Books

To access E-Books, you must be logged into eSearch.

The library provides you with access to hundreds of E-Books on Criminology topics. To search for E-Books, use UTOPIA and click on the link "Limits" in the far right corner of the search screen. Choose "e-Books" from the Location menu.

Contradictions of American capital punishment Zimring, Franklin E. Oxford University Press, 2003.

      
in NetLibrary eBooks

 

Dictionary of law enforcement Gooch, Graham. Oxford University Press, 2007.

      
in Oxford Reference Online: Premium

 

Race and Crime Wright, John D. Mason Crest Publishers, 2002.

      
in SocINDEX with Full Text

 

Serial killers : the method and madness of monsters Vronsky, Peter. Berkley Books, 2004.

      
in NetLibrary eBooks

 

Shooters : myths and realities of America's gun cultures  Kohn, Abigail A. Oxford University Press, 2004.

      
in NetLibrary eBooks

 

Project Gutenberg's Crime Bookshelf provides free, downloadable books, many of which are primary source material.