Skip to main content

Creative Writing: Databases

A research guide for the University of Tampa MFA program in creative writing.

Databases

You will need to be logged in through Esearch to access the following databases.

 

This first set of databases is valuable for research on literature and literary criticism.

Literature Online - "Literature Online is a virtual library containing over 350,000 literary texts together with full-text journals, author biographies and other critical and reference resources."

Literature Criticism Online - An excellent resource for learning about authors, their works, literary movements, literary and theatrical history.

Literature Resource Center - A companion database to Literature Criticism Online (LCO). Where LCO provides reference information to learn about a topic, Literature Resource Center provides access to critical essays and interpretation of artists and their work, as well as some biographical information and reviews.

Project Muse - A collection of "digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community." Collects material from over 120 publishers.

See the Subject Portal for English, Literature & Writing


This next set of databases is valuable for broader research inquiries. These also contain literary criticism and reviews.

Academic Search Complete - A substantial database covering a broad range of materials. A good place to start if you're not sure which database you need.

JSTOR - Over 1000 academic journals with an emphasis on the social sciences and humanities.

ProQuest - A collection of 21 databases covering everything from business, health, and science to art, literature, history, and social sciences.

ScienceDirect - In addition to the hard sciences also includes a substantial number of journals covering the social sciences.

_________________________________________________________________________________

You can find the complete set of databases here.

We have also divided the databases into the categories they cover. You can find the Subject Portals list here.