Skip to main content

Communication: Speeches and Debates

A guide for communication majors starting their research.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is another database that is perfect place for students having to develop speeches and participate in debates to begin gathering information.  The database provides "single-themed, 12,000-word reports researched and written by seasoned journalists. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources."

"The CQ Researcher Plus Archive adds more than 3,000 reports, published between 1923 and 1990 to CQ Researcher Online. Like CQ Researcher today, each report in the Archive addresses the significance and legacy of the events and issues of its day. And so, Archive content adds a new historical dimension to the CQ Researcher site, extending its coverage beyond politics and current events to the fields of history, sociology, cultural studies, and other social sciences."

"CQ Global Researcher offers focused and readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues. Also, written by seasoned journalists with years of international experience, these reports make use of such popular sections as "current situation," "pro-con," and a new feature called "voices from abroad.""

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a "great place to gather information for speeches and debates. Pro/con viewpoints are presented on a variety of topics along with statistics and cited sources.

Topics include today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. The database helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

In addition to the engaging, streamlined interface and media-rich topic pages, the product's collection of content and curriculum-focused tools that help students explore issues from all perspectives include:

  • More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays
  • 5,000+ topic overviews
  • More than 300 primary source documents
  • 300 biographies of social activists and reformers
  • More than 775 court-case overviews
  • 5 million periodical articles
  • Nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs
  • Nearly 70,000 images and a link to Google Image Search
  • Thousands of podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs
  • A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline"