Skip to main content

Current and Controversial Topics: Databases

This guide will help you find books, articles, and quality Internet sources on controversial topics and topics currently in the news.

ESearch

To access databases log into Esearch first.

CQ Researcher


CQ Researcher is a database that provides single-themed, 12,000-word reports researched and written by experts. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Gale in context : opposing viewpoints.

 

Gale in context : opposing viewpoints covers today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals. It includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.

ProQuest

ProQuest is a comprehensive database that provides access to full-text journals covering a wide-range of areas of study, including business, psychology, history, literature, political science, and psychology. ProQuest is an excellent resource for expanding your research!

Reference vs. Research

Reference resources are good for getting background information and an overview on your topic. These are all available through the library databases. Log in to Esearch for access.

We also have many specialized encyclopedias, both in the reference section of the library and in the databases.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Oxford Reference Online

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

Helpful Guides to Scholarly Research