Skip to main content

Citation Management: Free Web Based Tools

An overview and comparison of different citation managers, including RefWorks, Zotero, EasyBib, and BibMe.

About EasyBib

EasyBib is an automatic bibliography and citation maker that you access online.

Key features:

  • Create a free account and save bibliographies at easybib.com
  • Easily create citations by entering website URLs, book and article titles, or manually typing information in.
  • Export citations to MS Word, Google drive
  • Citation styles include MLA (free). APA and Chicago/Turabian available with Premium account.
  • Free mobile APP allows you to scan books into your EasyBib bibliography using your iPhone or iPad.

Getting Started

Go to EasyBib.com and register for a new EasyBib account.  You can also register via the following accounts:

  • Facebook
  • Google
  • AOL
  • Yahoo
  • OpenID

With a free account, you get to

  • Save bibliographies in MLA format

With a paid Premium account, you get

  • Bibliographies in MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian style
  • Footnotes and parenthetical citations
  • No ads
  • Import citations from 3rd party databases
  • Special note taking tools

NOTE: Automatic citation generators are a good place to get your citations properly formatted, but they are not always perfect.  Always review your citations to make sure they are consistent with recommended formats for your style.

Useful Links

More info, tutorials, guides, etc.:

EasyBib Autocite Tutorial

About BibMe

BibMe is a FREE citation tool that you use online, in any web browser.

Key features:

  • Automatic bibliography maker
  • MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian formats
  • Supported through PayPal donations
  • Originally developed as a student project at Carnegie Mellon University

    Getting Started

    Go to bibme.org and sign up for a new account which will allow you to:

    • Create bibliographies in MLA, APA, or Chicago, & Turabian formats
    • Auto-fill citation info for books, articles, websites, and more
    • Export bibliographies to MS Word (in RTF format)

    NOTE: Automatic citation generators are a good place to get your citations properly formatted, but they are not always perfect.  Always review your citations to make sure they are consistent with recommended formats for your style.

    Useful Links

    More info, tutorials, guides, etc.: