Skip to main content

Country Studies & Intercultural Communication: Video Introductions to Countries

Looking for information on different countries or cultures? This is the place to start.

Fims on Demand

To watch these videos you must first be logged into Esearch.

These videos and others are available from Films on Demand.

You can find videos that offer brief introductions to countries in the Area Studies Video Collection

 

The Country Watch series covers the following twenty four countries (access all of the following via this link):

Afghanistan: The central focus of this video about Afghanistan is on the war on terror.  Afghanistan is also a country rich with  culture, history, panoramic landscapes and strong media interest.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Brazil: Brazil is the center of political and economic activity in South America  with major agricultural, energy, and mineral resources.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

China: China is rapidly becoming one of the world's economic and military superpowers with major economic and political aspirations.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

France: France is the cultural center of Europe and a leading influence on the European Union.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Germany: Germany is the industrial center of Europe and a leading influence on the European Union.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

India: India is an Asian superpower and rival of China for economic supremacy in the Asian region.  It is also a key industrial and technical growth center.

Indonesia: Indonesia is one of the Asian tigers with rapidly growing population, as well as, mineral and industrial development.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Iran: Iran is a Middle Eastern Islamic republic in the spotlight for their fundamentalist Islamic views, oil resources and nuclear program.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Iraq: Iraq is the focal point of the Bush Administration war on terror in the Middle East and an Arab country transitioning to the democracy.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Israel: Israel is the Jewish State in the Middle East and magnet for Arabic tension with volatile borders with West Bank, Gaza, Lebanon, Syria and Egypt.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Japan: Japan is a mature Asian superpower,  industrial and technical growth center of Asia, and a G-8 nation with strong Western ties.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Kenya: Kenya is a leader in economic growth in Africa, home to panoramic wildlife vistas, and has a rich cultural history.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

North Korea: North Korea is one of the most politically isolated nations in the world with eccentric leadership, nuclear weapons and erratic foreign policy.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

South Korea: South Korea is an Asian democracy with a rapidly growing industrial base and a tension filled border with North Korea.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Mexico: Mexico is a Latin American leader on the US southern border with a rapidly growing population and economy and is a strategic interest to the US.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Nauru: Nauru is one of the smallest countries in the world located in the South Pacific with an intriguing history.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Pakistan: Pakistan is an Islamic nation with a nuclear capability, volatile borders with Afghanistan and India, and a complicated relationship with the West.

Russia: Russia is an economic powerhouse spanning Europe and Asia and is increasingly asserting its influence in the post-Cold War Era.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Saudi Arabia: Saudi Arabia is a Middle Eastern Islamic Kingdom possessing one of the largest concentrations of oil wealth in the world.

Somalia: Somalia is a war torn country in the Horn of Africa contested by feuding warlords and the center of pirate activity in the Arabia Sea.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Syria: Syria is a Middle Eastern state caught in a brutal civil war between the historic Assad regime and pro-democracy "Arab Spring" rebels.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Tunisia: Tunisia's "Jasmine Revolution" sparked the Arab Spring in the Middle East and North Africa.  Tunisia is transitioning to multi-party democracy.

Yemen: Yemen is a Middle Eastern country on the southern border with Saudi Arabia and a center of terroristic activity for Al Qaeda.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.

Zimbabwe: Zimbabwe is ruled by Mugabe with an iron fist.  Once the "bread basket" of Africa, it is now a country filled with disenfranchised farmers with eroded rights.  Please preview prior to using this video as it contains subject matter which may not be appropriate for all audiences.