Skip to main content

Literary Topic Research: Literary Criticism Databases

The place to start for literary analysis.

Expanding Your Search Beyond the Story

Expand your research beyond the scope of the story you are reading. Read author interviews, critical works about the author, analysis of the genre, relevant historical matter, and articles on theme and topic.

Literature Databases

Log in to Esearch for full access to the library databases.

LION (Literature Online):  Provides full text works of poetry, prose, and drama, author biographies, and critical essays.

Gale Literary Sources: Provides critical commentary, profiles and criticism on authors, topics, and works. Cross search Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center along with several reference and primary source databases. Critical essays are arranged in long chapters which are typically easier to read if downloaded into PDF format.

Literature Resource Center: Provides full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies.

MLA International Bibliography: From the Modern Language Association, this is an essential tool for research in all aspects of modern languages and literature.

More Database Choices

Academic Search Complete: Multi-disciplinary database. Select "Scholarly/Peer Review" to limit your search to academic journals.

  * Under "Document Type" select "Literary Criticism"

Humanities Full Text: This database provides full text articles, abstracts, and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.

* Under "Document Type" select "Literary Criticism"

JSTOR: Scholarly journal archive

Project Muse: Scholarly journal database.

  * Under "Advanced Search" select "Articles" (not Reviews) and limit by appropriate "Research Area"

ProQuest: Multidisciplinary selection of databases. Select "Scholarly" and "Peer Review" to limit your search to academic journals