Skip to main content

Literary Topic Research: Google Scholar

The place to start for literary analysis.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a useful source for research and is appealing for the familiar Google search box, but keep in mind it has some limitations:

  • Google Scholar is not comprehensive and does not provide indexing to many of the scholarly journals available through the library databases which can bias your research and limit your exposure to the body of research available.
  • Not all results are from peer reviewed sources. You will need to critically evaluate materials found through Google Scholar.
  • Many results are not available in full text through Google Scholar. 

Google Scholar features:

  • Cited by: This link will give you a list of works which cited that article. This can help lead you to more sources.
  • Related Articles: This link will bring up results on or related to that subject.
  • Google Books: Search results include books available as previews or for free through Google Books.

 

Finding an Article by the Citation

When you find an article through Google Scholar but are unable to access the full text for free follow these steps to see if you have access through the library.

1. Get the article's citation information (i.e., journal title, volume/issue number, and date)

2. Go to the library's website at utopia.ut.edu

3. Open the Ejournals link

4. Search in Ejournals by the exact journal title in which the article appears

5. Find the specific journal in the results (If no results appear this means that the library does not subscribe to that journal. You may submit an Interlibrary Loan request to borrow the article from another library)

6. One journal may be available through multiple databases with varying ranges of date coverage. For example:

 

7. Find the database which includes the journal for the date the article was published

8. Click on the database link. It will open up the database and specifically link to that journal. 

9. Find the date then the volume and issue of the article. It will open up all articles included within that issue. Find the title of the article to access the full text.