Skip to main content

World Religions: Scholarly Article Databases

If you are researching religion, faith, or spirituality start here for research suggestions.

Article Databases

Log in to Esearch for full access to the library databases. Several of these databases provide tools which limit the search to scholarly journals that explore religious themes.

Academic Search Complete : Multi-disciplinary database. Select "Scholarly/Peer Review" to limit your search to academic journals.

Cambridge Journals Online: Scholarly journal database with access to several religious studies journals.

JSTORScholarly journal archive with 84 religion titles.

   * In Advanced Search under "NARROW BY DISCIPLINE AND/OR PUBLICATION TITLE" select "Religion" or specific journal(s)

   *You may also want to include other subject categories relevant to your topic for example Jewish Studies, Middle East Studies, or Philosophy.

Project Muse: Scholarly journal database.

   *In Advanced Search under "Research Areas" you can limit the search to "Religion"

   *Results often include book reviews. To refine your results to just articles under "Content Type" select "Articles" 

ProQuestMultidisciplinary database. Select "Scholarly" and "Peer Review"

Sage PremierScholarly journal database.

   *Under "Search Within" choose "Select from a list of disciplines" under "Social Sciences and Humanities" choose "Theology & Biblical Studies"

 

Other Databases

Many topics or research areas may have a multidisciplinary scope. For example, religion viewed through psychology, anthropology, sociology, or politics. This may require research in databases not specifically listed in this guide. 

Consult the library's other Research Guides or Subject Guides to find which databases are appropriate for a particular subject.