Skip to main content

E-books: Downloading e-books: Software & Devices

A guide to help you find ebooks in the Library Catalog.

Databases

Navigation:

Each e-book database allows you to read the full-text e-book within the database interface on most desktop, laptop, and mobile devices. Most e-books are navigable by a Table of Contents, usually found on the left hand side of the screen. For full functionality (annotating, highlighting, bookmarking etc.), you will need to create a seperate account with each database.

Downloading:

Keep in mind that some platforms don't allow you to download the entire e-book file to your computer. Some allow for chapter by chapter downloads or sending a chapter via email (ABC-CLIO eBooks and Ebrary lets you do this). If you wish to download an e-book in EBSCO eBook Collection, you will need to download Adobe Digital Additions to your home computer. Note: Adobe Digital Additions is not available on the Library's computers. EBSCO will only allow you to save or email up to 6 pages of an e-book at one time.

If you have trouble navigating any e-book platform, please contact the reference desk at 813-257-3057 or come visit us in person.

Kindle

  • Can I use the library's databases on the Kindle?

   Not yet. Although the Kindle can read .pdfs if you save them from the database and then upload them to the Kindle.

  • Getting Free Books

Here are a few places to find free books to read on the Kindle.

(NOTE: Many free works are available as .PDFs. To get a .PDF document on your Kindle, first save the document to your computer. Then, connect your computer and Kindle with the USB cable and save the documents to the Kindle.)

 

Librarian

Leslie Vega's picture
Leslie Vega
http://libguides.utopia.ut.edu/researchhelp
Contact:
Macdonald-Kelce Library
The University of Tampa
401 W. Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33606
813-257-3244
Website / Blog Page