Skip to main content

Faculty, Staff, and Alumni Resources: Home

This guide assists faculty, staff, and alumni with resources offered by the Macdonald-Kelce Library.

Home

Welcome

 

The Macdonald-Kelce Library offers a wide range of services and materials for faculty, staff, and alumni use.

This guide will answer your questions about who your liaison librarian is, our circulation and reserves policy, Interlibrary Loan (ILL), bibliographic and information literacy instruction, donating gifts, acquiring new materials for the collection, copyright/fair use policies, and journal analysis. 

If you have any further questions, please contact the Reference Desk (813) 253-3057 or the Circulation Desk (813) 253-6331, or visit us during our desk hours.

Find a complete list of policies and services for the UT community on our About page. 

Librarian

Leslie Vega's picture
Leslie Vega
http://libguides.utopia.ut.edu/researchhelp
Contact:
Macdonald-Kelce Library
The University of Tampa
401 W. Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33606
813-257-3244
Website / Blog Page

Liaison Librarians

Liaisons


          For a complete staff list, please visit our Staff Page.

Acquiring new materials through your liaison

As the new academic year begins, the Acquisitions Department of the Macdonald-Kelce Library would like to inform all faculty members the procedures for ordering Library materials:  Before submitting a request, you should check the Library Catalog (UTOPIA) as we may already have the item in the collection. Please send your requests for purchases to your liaison librarian (left). 

When ordering, the following information will help us get exactly the material requested *:

  • Your name and email
  • Your department
  • Title
  • Author Publication year or edition
  • Volume number (if applicable)
  • ISBN (13-digit is preferred, but 10-digit will suffice)

If you found what you need online, please include a link to where you found the book, journal, DVD, etc.  Worldcat.org provides complete bibliographic information and indicates whether we already own the title as well.

Each department has an allocated fund that's determined annually. If you have a large or overly expensive order, please check with your liaison librarian regarding available funding.

We will notify you by email when your requested materials become available for use. Please note: this may take several weeks, as the items have to be ordered, received, cataloged and processed. Keep this in mind, so that your syllabus doesn’t depend on a title that may not arrive in time for your class! We always try to get your requests to you as quickly as possible. Let us know in advance what your needs are, and we will do our best to accommodate you.

Also, please let us know if you would like the requested items put on Reserve for a particular course and term. Otherwise, they will go straight into the collection once they have been processed.

* If you are required to submit materials with a department chair signature, please use this form and return to the appropriate library liaison:

Information Literacy Instruction

Information Literacy

What is Information Literacy?

A simple definition is given in the final report of the ALA Presidential Committee on Information Literacy:

"Information Literacy is the ability to recognize when information is needed and to locate, evaluate and use effectively the information needed."

A couple of other components in the definition:

  • Add selected information to one’s knowledge base
  • Use information to accomplish a specific purpose
  • Be fully aware of the social, economic and ethical issues concerning the access and use of information

In the context of higher education more specific goals are:

  • Understanding the organization of an academic library, especially the Library at the Institute of Higher learning you attend. Be aware of specific collections and services offered by your Library.
  • Identify individuals and groups within this organization that can help you in answering questions and provide you with proper direction.
  • Develop a basic vocabulary about doing research in a University Library. For example know what an abstract is, a bibliography, an index, citations, a catalog, elements of databases, etc.

Why do we need it?

Information Literacy is important because we are in an era of ever increasing amounts of information being published and presented. In all walks of life we are constantly asking questions whether we are writing a doctoral dissertation or buying a new home. Building our information skills will aid us in achieving success no matter your occupation.

Along with this we are in an era of rapid technological change. An individual has to be able to construct a method of acquiring the best information in the most efficient manner in order to accomplish research goals, stay informed, promote success in careers and obtain the best vantage point for success in all aspects of life. In a University the need for IL will help to insure a satisfactory completion of assignments in pursuit of the college degree. Outside of the academic sphere, consider the benefits for students as citizens. IL builds critical thinking abilities and helps the individual become a lifelong learner.

 

Information Literacy Videos

The Berkman Center

The Berkman Center for Internet & Society's Official channel on YouTube. You'll find a collection of some of our best work produced over ten years of cyber research.

The Berkman Center Youth and Media 

Led by John Palfrey and Urs Gasser, the Youth and Media project at the Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University encompasses an array of research, advocacy, and development initiatives around youth and technology. By understanding young people’s interactions with digital media such as the Internet, cell phones and video games, we seek to address the issues their practices raise, learn how to harness the opportunities their digital fluency presents, and shape our regulatory and educational frameworks in a way that advances the public interest.

Project Information Literacy 

Project Information Literacy is a national study about early adults and their information-seeking behaviors, competencies, and the challenges they face when conducting research in the digital age.

Michael Eisenberg - Project Information Literacy 

Project Information Literacy (PIL) is ongoing research project, based in the University of Washington's Information School. The project seeks to understand how early adults conceptualize and operationalize research activities for course work and ""everyday life"" use and especially how they resolve issues of credibility, authority, relevance, and currency in the digital age.

Bibliographic Instruction

Bibliographic instruction sessions are scheduled throughout the school year and provide students with guidance on how to find the best research materials for their assignments. We stress the importance of information literacy and illustrate the principals of this growing body of knowledge.

The sessions last between 40 mins. to an hour and can be tailored to the needs of the particular class. Students can also schedule individual sessions, if time permits. For faculty scheduling appointments for bibliographic instruction sessions it is a good idea to secure the time and day of the appointment at least a week ahead of time.The purpose of these sessions is to increase the student's skills in information literacy, and how to navigate the library and use it's resources effectively. 

Please contact your liaison librarian to request a class. If you are teaching an AWR101 or 201 course, you may contact either David Davisson, Information Literacy Librarian, or Leslie Vega, Reference & Instruction Librarian. 

Information Literacy Websites

National Forum on Information Literacy 

The National Forum on Information Literacy was created in 1989 as a response to the recommendations of the American Library Association’s (ALA) Presidential Committee on Information Literacy. These education, library, and business leaders stated that no other change in American society has offered greater challenges than the emergence of the Information Age. Today, the National Forum on Information Literacy is a robust collaborative of 93 + national and international organizations working together, on various levels, to mainstream this critical, 21st century educational and workforce development concept throughout every segment of society.

Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)

These resources will help you understand and apply the Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education to enhance teaching, learning, and research in the higher education community. Up to date discussions, future plans, innovations are featured on the ACRL Insider.

Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education 

These standards were reviewed by the ACRL Standards Committee and approved by the Board of Directors of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) on January 18, 2000. These standards were also endorsed by the American Association for Higher Education (October 1999) and the Council of Independent Colleges (February 2004). 

Standards Toolkit 

The Standards Toolkit is a set of tools, web pages and other resources that will help you to use the Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education. You can find the official complete text of the Standards, which includes a full introduction and appendix, here. As context for the use of the standards in academic instruction programs, read the ACRL Instruction Section's " Guidelines for Instruction Programs in Academic Libraries." For grounding in how to approach and understand the "outcomes" defined in the Standards, read "Objectives for Information Literacy Instruction: A Model Statement for Academic Librarians", the companion statement to the Competency Standards.

IFLA - information Literacy Section 

The primary purpose of the Information Literacy Section is to foster international cooperation in the development of information literacy education in all types of libraries and information institutions.

Project Information Literacy 

Project Information Literacy is a national study about early adults and their information-seeking behaviors, competencies, and the challenges they face when conducting research in the digital age.

Reserves

Reserves Policy

Our Circulation Department is in charge of all items put on reserve. If your syllabus requires all of your students to read or watch the same article, book, or DVD, it's a good idea to put that item on reserve. Students will be able to pick up the reserved item at the Circulation Desk. 

Please provide the following information to the circulation desk :

  • name of the professor 
  • class name/number/section
  • Title/author/published date of the item
  • Length of reserve, 2 hr. in library use; overnight; 3-day; 7-day

Students reserving materials must present their current validated UT ID at the time of checkout. Some items may be "in library use only," while others may be checked out for a few days. The time restrictions are set by the professor's instructions.

To put items on reserve please email or call Gladys Limhing at x6231 or leave the materials at the circulation desk with proper instructions. If you want to see what's on Reserve now go to the Online Catalog and click on the Course Reserve tab.

If you have a longer list of items to put on Reserve, please fill out the form below and email to Gladys Limhing or return to the library:

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

ILL

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a process where we borrow materials we don’t own from other libraries.

For books (including theses or manuscripts), book chapters, DVDs, or CDs, fill out this online form.

For articles, fill out this online form.

* Before submitting a request, please check our catalog to see if we own a book, DVD, or CD, and Ejournals to see if we have access to an article in a specific journal.

* This process can take up to a week (more or less, depending on the availability and format), so please plan ahead.

* This service is available for current UT faculty, staff, students, registered alumni, emeritus faculty and Friends of the Library.

* ILL is not available for currently assigned textbooks, and it is sometimes difficult to borrow audio/visual material, reference books, and whole issues of journals and magazines.

* We will email you when articles come in via Article Exchange (AE). AE is a service provided by OCLC, the organization that supports interlibrary loan throughout the world. This service allows for secure transmission of documents, regardless of size, through a link and password system, which also enhances copyright compliance in online ILL sharing.

* We will notify you when books are available for pick-up at our circulation desk. The loan period for books is determined by the lending library, which is normally 3 weeks. Please contact ILLBook@ut.edu, if you would like to request a renewal. Please note renewals are at the discretion of the lending institution.

* If there are any problems in locating the material (or there is a charge associated with borrowing, which is uncommon), we will contact you.

If you need any help with your research, please don’t hesitate to contact the reference desk (813) 253-3057

Copyright & Fair Use

Copyright & Fair Use

Check out all of the comprehensive guide to Copyright & Fair Use here. 

For specific faculty concerns, see below.

MKL Fair Use Checklist --- If you have questions about using material in class consider using this guideline to help inform your decision.

Copyright for Images Checklist (click to zoom)

Copyright (for Faculty)

Information on the Teach Act below

First, a note about copyright law and fair use:

There is an exceptional amount of gray area in copyright law. The courts have consistently refused to absolutely define Fair Use, and the law itself is vague. Much of what follows is drawn from court precedent. The unfortunate result of this is that there is often a tension between an administration's responsibility to reduce legal (and economic) risk, and a scholar's responsibility to share information freely. Fortunately, the Fair Use provision specifically covers teaching, scholarship, and academic research; so much of your work in those areas should not be hindered by copyright law.

Is the work I do while an employee of the University considered "work for hire?"

The short answer for faculty is "usually, no." Here's the longer answer: This is one of those gray areas in copyright law. Typically, when you are clocked in and produce something the copyright belongs to the employer. So, if you write a procedures manual while working for Three Initial Company (TIC) they own the copyright. This first became an issue for faculty when scientists working at a research university patented their work and made lots of money from it. Did the scientist own the patent or did the university? There has also been conflict over research publications, syllabi, and course development. Most scholarly and research work done by faculty is not considered work for hire. Courses created by a professor are usually not considered works-for-hire. However, in instances when a University directs a professor to create a course dealing with a specific subject, that work may sometimes be considered a work-for-hire. The tradition has been that faculty owns whatever creative works they develop. However, with the profound changes occurring in post-secondary education, some Universities are more forcefully asserting their rights to own materials developed for new courses. More information about intellectual property ownership at the University of Tampa for faculty can be found in chapter six, section eleven of the Faculty Handbook.

Do the students own the copyright of their work?

Yes. As long as the work created is normally covered by copyright law.

Do I have to get the copyright holder's permission for everything I want the students to read for class?

No. Fair Use exemptions allow you to use short stories, novel excerpts, essays, poetry, research articles, popular articles, etc. for the purposes of teaching and critique. What you cannot do is copy an entire book and give it to the students. Also, you can only make enough copies for the students and no more. If you use a course packet service then you must get copyright clearance since the company making the course packets is profiting from the work. Digitizing the material and putting it into a restricted online space like Blackboard is OK, and it explicitly covered in the TEACH Act of 2002.

How do I know how much is too much to copy?

Here are some general rules of thumb from the Stanford Copyright & Fair Use page:

Examples of what can be copied and distributed in class include:

  • a complete poem if less than 250 words or an excerpt of not more than 250 words from a longer poem
  • a complete article, story, or essay if less than 2,500 words or an excerpt from any prose work of not more than 1,000 words or 10% of the work, whichever is less; or
  • one chart, graph, diagram, drawing, cartoon, or picture per book or per periodical issue.

Not more than one short poem, article, story, essay, or two excerpts may be copied from the same author, nor more than three from the same collective work or periodical volume (for example, a magazine or newspaper) during one class term. As a general rule, a teacher has more freedom to copy from newspapers or other periodicals if the copying is related to current events.

Teachers may not photocopy workbooks, texts, standardized tests, or other materials that were created for educational use. The guidelines were not intended to allow teachers to usurp the profits of educational publishers.

What are the rules for compiling a coursepack?

If you have a company compile a coursepack to hand out in class all the material in the coursepack must go through copyright clearance, which means the copyright holder must be contacted and paid if they request a payment for the use of their material. There are fewer restrictions and more flexibility when you make the material available through a Learning Management System like Blackboard or Moodle.

What are the rules for a digital coursepack (i.e. making stuff available only on Blackboard)?

You don't have to get copyright clearance, but you must still adhere to the rules of thumb for using reasonable and limited portions. The material you are using must be accessible only to those in the class you are teaching. You may not post a textbook for everyone to use.

How do I get permission to re-use copyrighted material?

Check with the Copyright Clearance Center. The CCC is a not-for-profit U.S. company that provides collective copyright licensing services for corporate and academic users of copyrighted materials.

**********

Following is the pertinent excerpt from the Faculty Handbook ("the material contained in the Faculty Policies and Procedures Handbook is intended for use as a guide to the policies, procedures, and benefits in effect as of the date of issuance").

Intellectual Property Ownership:
1. Policy as to Staff. The University owns the Intellectual Property created by University staff within the scope of their employment by the University or with more than incidental use of University resources.

2. Policy as to Independent Contractors. It is the policy of the University to enter into written agreements with each of its independent contractors describing the Intellectual Property to be created, if any, prior to the independent contractor’s creation thereof. Unless expressly set forth in such an agreement to the contrary, the University alone owns all Intellectual Property created by independent contractors within the scope of their engagement by the University or with more than incidental use of University resources.

3. Policy as to Faculty. Ownership of Intellectual Property created by faculty, both full and part-time, vests in and remains with the creator(s) alone, and not the University, unless the Intellectual Property is a Commissioned Work (as defined in Section I.B.5 of this policy).

4. Policy as to Students. Ownership of Intellectual Property created by students vests in and remains with the student(s), unless the Intellectual Property:
a. Is a Commissioned Work (as defined in Section I.B.5 of this policy).
b. Is a part of a larger work that is a Commissioned Work;
c. Is created in the student’s capacity as a full- or part- time staff or independent contractor within the scope of his or her employment or engagement by the University; or
d. Is created through more than incidental use of University resources as part of a fellowship, assistantship, or stipend, except when the result of collaborative work or scholarship with faculty engaged in Non-Commissioned Work.

5. Commissioned Work Defined. As used in this policy, the term ―Commissioned Work‖ means Intellectual Property that:
a. Is requisitioned by the University pursuant to a written agreement with the creator(s) in the form attached to this policy as Attachment A, the ―Intellectual Property Ownership Agreement‖; and
b. Is supported by a direct allocation of Extra Consideration ((as defined in Section I.F) by or through the University to the creator(s) expressly in exchange for the requisitioned Intellectual Property.

6. Extra Consideration Defined. As used in this policy, the term “Extra Consideration” is defined to mean consideration (including extra pay, the allocation of extra resources, or any release time from normal duties) that is provided by the University to the creator(s) of Commissioned Works.

7. Outside Funding Exceptions. This policy shall not limit the University’s or any faculty member’s ability to meet any obligations for deliverables under any grant, sponsored research agreement, or other outside funding contract, which shall supersede this policy in all respects.

8. Negotiated Exceptions. This policy may be superseded as it applies to any person by written agreement entered into and duly executed by such person and an authorized representative of the University. For example, the creator of Intellectual Property that would normally be owned by the creator hereunder may elect to transfer ownership thereof to the University, pursuant to such terms as may be agreed to in writing by the creator and an authorized representative of the University. No such transfer may carry or create contingent liabilities or costs to the University without the University’s prior, informed consent thereto.

9. Rights Clearance. Responsibility for assuring that Intellectual Property does not infringe any third party proprietary rights and is otherwise free of liens and encumbrances rests fully with the owner(s) thereof as determined under this policy.

10. Registration. Responsibility for applying for and obtaining statutory registration or other legal protection for any Intellectual Property, including financial responsibility, rests fully with the owner(s) thereof as determined under this policy.

11. Authorized Use for Administrative Purposes. The University shall be permitted to use all Intellectual Property created hereunder for appropriate administrative purposes.

12. Limitations on Sale, Modification, and Distribution. The University may not sell, modify, or distribute for use to third parties any Intellectual Property without the prior written permission of the owner thereof (if other than the University), and only upon terms and conditions agreed to in advance.

13. Responsibility to Declare. When Intellectual Property is owned in whole or in part by the University pursuant hereto, the creator(s) thereof must make good faith efforts to maintain notes or records of his or her efforts to create such Intellectual Property, including the completion thereof, and must formally declare the same to their immediate supervisor (whether a college dean, senior administrator) in a timely manner.

14. Negotiations. Faculty, staff, and students affiliated with an academic unit shall communicate, negotiate, and execute a formal agreement involving any Commissioned Work with the appropriate academic dean, with review by the chief academic officer(s). The senior administrator for staff and non-faculty employees not affiliated with a specific academic unit shall serve the same role as that of academic dean.

TEACH Act

In 2002, the United States Congress passed the TEACH Act to clarify some of the copyright issues created by the advent of digital media. While educators welcomed these clarifications, copyright and fair use remains a complicated part of academic life.

Journal Analysis

Institutional Repository

Gifts

Gift Donations

The Macdonald-Kelce Library welcomes donations of cash, in-kind donations and personal book collections. Monetary gifts are welcomed for the purchase of specific items consistent with the Library's Collection Development.

Any materials given to the library are evaluated by the same standards as purchased materials. The library reserves the right to dispose of any portion of a gift that does not meet the collection development criteria. Gifts offered with restricting conditions would be accepted at the discretion of the Library Director. The library determines final disposition of gifts or donations.

Monetary contributions to the Library support the purchase and preservation of desired books, databases, and other materials.  All contributions to The University are tax deductible. Contributions to the Library may be by cash or check. Anyone wishing to make a cash or in-kind contribution may contact either to the Director of Library, Marlyn Pethe or to The University of Tampa Development Office. Please indicate that your gift is for the Library in the comment box on the online form. You may also show your support by becoming a Friend of the Macdonald-Kelce Library.

Rare books and manuscripts will be evaluated by the appropriate staff and will be dealt with on a case-by-case basis.

A donation to the Library may be in the form of a memorial or tribute to an individual, or a commemoration of a special occasion, such as a birthday, anniversary, graduation or other occasion. The library respectfully requests a minimum contribution of $20 for the purchase of one or more books.

Each book purchased through a memorial/tribute donation will bear a personalized bookplate commemorating the person or event.

The library will not appraise gift materials. If desired, the donor should seek appraisals by a qualified third party. The Library follows all federal and state regulations governing donations, including rulings on appraisals for tax deduction. The library is prohibited by conflict of interest concerns from providing estimates of monetary value for any donation. Donors must comply with all IRS regulations in force before delivery of gifts or donations. The acceptance of a gift, which has been appraised by the donor or a third Party, in no way implies endorsement of the appraisal by the library.

Inappropriate donations include anything containing mold, mildew, or insects are potentially dangerous to the existing collection. Any material that is damaged by water or ripped, torn or shows extensive wear or any book that is written in or highlighted.

Thank you for your contributions to the Library!

Learn more about University Giving here

Alumni

Alumni

The Office of Development and University Relations offers many services and resources for UT Alumni

In order to take advantages of your Alumni status, become a member of the National Alumni Association (NAA). Membership is free and automatic for all graduates of The University of Tampa. They will issue you a card which you can then use at the Campus Bookstore for a discount and other benefits listed here

Alumni membership includes access to more than 275,000 books and 1,600 periodicals in-house at the Macdonald-Kelce Library. Alumni may check out 5 books at a time for a two week period. Local alums are able to Interlibrary Loan under the library's discretion. There is no off campus access to the databases. Bring in your NAA Alumni Card to check out library books.

Other Services

Useful on campus services for faculty

Media Services

Need a DVD player set up in your classroom? A variety of equipment is available from Media Services. The Media Services Department is located on the second floor of the Library. You must book all requests in advance.

Media Services Help Desk 
Phone: (813) 257-3810 
Email: av@ut.edu 
Fax: (813) 258-7267

Doug Harding, Head Campus Media Services, Information Technology Operations,  (813) 257- 3061 

Jemaine Brown, Media Technology Specialist,  (813) 257- 3814

The Media Services Department is open:
Monday – Thursday: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.

During the summer months and intercessions, other times apply. Please call for more information.

Educational Technology

The Educational Technology (Ed Tech) department, under the associate provost, is responsible for planning, developing, delivering and assessing professional development opportunities in the area of technological practices for effective teaching, learning and assessment. 

If you need assistance with any software (Adobe, Blackboard, Atomic Learning etc.) visit edtech.ut.edu or contact:

(813) 257- 6333

edtech@ut.edu

Plant Hall, Rooms 222-224

 

 

Academic Success Center

The Academic Success Center offers peer tutoring and other academic coaching services for your students.

They also offer exam proctoring services by appointment. If you or a student has any questions regarding testing accommodations, please contact the Testing Center office at ace.testing@ut.edu or (813) 257-5757.

Helpful Tips for Faculty

Becoming a Library Power User