Skip to main content

Journal Analysis: Cabell's Directory

This guide reviews ISI Web of Science, Ulrichsweb Global Serial Directory and Cabell's Directory.

About Cabell's International (Log into Esearch for off-campus access)

Cabell's is a resource that specializes in connecting researchers, publishers, librarians, and academics to the journal titles they need.

The Cabell’s journal directory assists authors in their publication journey by providing an interactive, searchable database which covers 18 distinct academic disciplines from more than ten thousand international scholarly journals.

Our goal at Cabell’s is to facilitate scholarly communication by offering an independent and comprehensive platform, to help researchers evaluate and select the most appropriate outlets for their work. All content is rigorously reviewed against our journal selection policy in order to provide credible and thorough:

  • Bibliographic information and journal contact information
  • Manuscript submission criteria and review process guidelines
  • Journal quality metrics and levels of impact/influence
  • Powerful contextual and analysis tools
  • Author publication experiences

(from the publisher's website)

The Macdonald-Kelce Library's subscription includes:

  • Educational Set
  • Business College Set
  • Computer Science-Business Information Systems

Call For Papers

Use Call For Papers search to find journals actively looking for submissions in your field, complete with all of the necessary information, including a link to the journal's submission page, editor, manuscript requirements, acceptance rate and journal impact factor.

Need Help?

IPA

IPA© stands for Institutional Publishing Activity©. This is used to explicitly recognize the differences in research resource availability among institutions. These differences result from disparities in the budgets available for research, equipment, facilities, faculty support, research assistance, the rewards for publishing, and the capabilities of individual faculty members. Such factors result in differences in the publishing effectiveness of institutions.
Using citation counts and author affiliations, Cabell's Disciplines classified institutions into three categories: Premiere, Significant, and High Influence (See Cabell's Classification Index). The "Qualified" journals were not included in this calculation because they did not have citation counts.
After classifying the publishing activity of the institutions, the counts in each classification were weighted by the average citations per document (article) for each classification. This weighting system tended to compensate for the smaller percentage of journals in the Premiere (10%) and the Significant (10%) classifications relative to the number of journals in the High Influence (80%) classification. It also recognized the increased importance (i.e. frequency of citation) journals in the Premiere and Significant Influence classifications.
The total weighted score of each institution was normalized using its Z score. The Z score for each institution was calculated through statistical analysis, and rankings are based on Z score ranges as follows:
Institutions which have a Z score of 1.282 or higher are "Recognized Institutions". This classification comprises approximately 10% of the institutions whose faculty members publish in journals with citation counts.
Institutions which have a Z score of 0.842 - 1.281 are "Significant Institutions". This classification comprises the next 11-20% of the institutions whose faculty members publish in journals with citation counts.
Institutions which have a Z score of less than or equal to 0.841 are "High Influence Institutions". This classification comprises the remaining institutions whose faculty members publish in journals with citation counts.
Those institutions whose faculty members publish in journals without citation counts but are accredited by national accreditation associations are labeled as "Accredited". The accreditation associations used to establish this category in each of Cabell's Disciplines are as follows:
Directory National Accreditation Association
Accounting AACSB International
Computer Science-Business Information Systems AACSB International
Economics and Finance AACSB International
Education Curriculum and Methods NCATE
Educational Psychology and Administration NCATE
Educational Technology and Library Science NCATE
Health Administration ALA
Management AACSB International
Marketing AACSB International
Nursing AACN
Psychology APA