Within the following list of databases you can find thousands of scholarly articles, images, reference sources like encyclopedias, timelines, and more. Sign into Esearch first. Note: "OA" designation means Open Access (free online).
Academic OneFile (Gale) - The premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) - Academic Search Complete provides comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,990 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,030 peer-reviewed journals. This database offers 50+ journals and numerous full text articles that focus on the subject of Art.
ARTstor - ARTstor is a rich digital image library that will offer collections of art images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. The ARTstor Library's initial content includes approximately 500,000 images covering art, architecture and archeology. Create your own personal account to save images. You may need to turn off your browser's pop-up blocker.
Asia Art Archive (OA) - AAA’s collection is a dynamic, growing body of material intended to reflect contemporary artistic practice and developments of Asia within an international context.
Bibliography of the History of Art [BHA] and the Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art [RILA] (OA) - The Getty provides free access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). These citation databases, searchable together, cover a comprehensive range of art and art history materials published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
Daily Life Through History - Daily Life Through History offers information on day to day life in various global settings. This site is an excellent source for information on world arts and crafts. Daily Life Online provides, images, cultural history and a focus on the social significance of Art in various cultures, etc.
Digital Public Library of America (OA)- The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Education Research Complete (EBSCO) - This source has 50+ titles that focus on subjects such as, arts education, the importance of art in education, art therapy, arts policy, etc.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online - Encyclopædia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Fine Arts and Music Collection (Gale) - Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Getty Search Portal (OA) - The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
Grove Dictionary of Art - The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. We also hold this source in book form in a 34 volume set shelved in the Reference section at the call number REF N 31 .D5 1996.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (OA)- The Timeline of Art History presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool.
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO) - This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. It encompasses all key fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much, much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.
International Bibliography of Art [IBA] - The definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), see above to access. This source covers European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945.
ISI Web of Knowledge - ISI Web of Knowledge (Thomson Reuters) is today's premier research platform for information in the sciences, social sciences, business, arts, and humanities. Contains Medline and ISI Web of Science.
JSTOR - This source is a scholarly journal archive. Jstor provides full text image content for 322 titles in subject areas such as Art History, African American Studies, Language and Literature, Sociology, Philosophy, etc
Metropolitan Museum of Art Publications (OA) - MetPublications is a portal to the Met's comprehensive publishing program with 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades.
Oxford Reference Online - The Core Collection brings together 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference sources into a single cross-searchable web database. The Core Collection covers a broad range of subjects including those related to Art and Art History.
Perseus Digital Library - The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources for the study of the humanities. They are funded to perform research on developing tools to provide users with improved access to various types of materials.
Project Muse - Project Muse covers nearly 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers, including those in the fields of literature and criticism, history, art history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Proquest - One of the most comprehensive databases available online. Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including business, arts, education, literature, political science, and psychology. The database has a back file dating back to 1986 and a deep back file going back to earlier centuries.
Society of Architectural Historians Archipedia (OA) - SAH Archipedia: Classic Buildings, a free, open-access site containing entries for around 100 buildings from each state represented in SAH Archipedia. These entries have been chosen by the editors as among the most significant or representative ones from their region.
World Digital Library (OA)- The World Digital Library provides free access to manuscripts, rare books, maps, photographs, and other important cultural documents from all countries.
World Folklore and Folklife - This resource describes the rich tradition of global art, American art, folk art, etc. The content of this database includes Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife, The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore, and the Greenwood Library of American Folktales.