Art & Design related websites for news & criticism
Stonehenge (with Two Persons) Blue, 2005
Mixographia Print on Handmade Paper
© John Baldessari
Art Daily: "The first art newspaper on the net." Features tons of content about current openings
Art F City: contemporary art news
Artist Space Registry: artist's registry
The Art Newspaper: UK based online publication featuring news from museums and galleries around the world, with useful event guides and exhibition calendars.
Art Slant: contemporary art network
Art Observed: global contemporary art events and news
ART21: non-profit art organization known for their PBS show Art in the Twenty-First Century
artnet news: lists of emerging artists
Artsy: check out their emerging art lists and fair guides
AskART: artist database featuring biographies, price valuation reports, articles, photographs, audio and video clips
Bad at Sports: a weekly podcast, a series of objects, events, and a daily blog produced in Chicago, San Francisco, Detroit and New York City that features artists and art worlders talking about art and the community that makes, reviews and participates in it.
Bouin Artinfo: global source for news, information, and commentary on art and artists
Contemporary Art Daily: A Daily Journal of International Exhibitions
e-flux: online journal and direct email announcements of exhibitions and programs
Frieze: a definitive resource for contemporary art and culture with an international exhibitions calendar
Hyperallergic: contemporary art and culture criticism
Museum - iD: global independent think tank for museum and heritage professionals
Rhizome: blog about new media art, affiliated with the New Museum in NYC
Through the Flower: "Through the Flower is a non-profit Feminist art organization founded by Judy Chicago in 1978. Our mission is to educate a broad public about the importance of art and its power in countering the erasure of women's achievements."
UBS Planet Art: art news phone app
Universes in Universe: online art portal
Art cyclopedia: A directory of artists, artworks, and museums. See which museums house an artist's work.
Colorsystem: "Do you know Isaac Newton’s Theory of Colour? Or maybe Goethe’s? We present you with a total of 59 easy-to-understand, richly illustrated colour theories from the Antiquity to modern times: in short, a complete cultural history of colour written by Prof. Narciso Silvestrini and Prof. Ernst Peter Fischer."
Dictionary of Art Historians: A biographical dictionary of historians of western art written and maintained by scholars for the benefit of the public. This site seeks to compile the documented facts of an historian's life in order to serve as a background for understanding a specific text and the historiography of art.
Images of Rome: The Rodolfo Lanciani Digital Archive: Collection providing virtual access to a premier collection of historic depictions of Rome amassed by Rodolfo Lanciani (1845–1929)
The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History: "The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.
Smarthistory: A free resource that includes images, videos, and essays, for the study of art and cultural heritage, created by art historians, archaeologists, curators and other specialists.
Jaume Plensa (Spanish, b. 1955)
Laura with Bun, 2014
Photo Courtesy of Skip O’Rourke/Tampa Bay Times
Currently on view at the Tampa Museum of Art