Skip to main content

Contemporary & Modern Art: Articles

Resources for the study of Modern and Contemporary Art, the period encompassing roughly the 20th and 21st centuries.

Finding Modern Art Scholarship

Here are some quality databases to start with. For a more complete list, see the Art, Design, and Art History guide. 

Please sign into Esearch first.

Artstor - Artstor is a comprehensive digital image library that offers high quality images and accurate information on over 2 million artworks. Use Artstor in your slide presentations and research papers.

Fine Arts and Music Collection (Gale) Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in the areas of Modern and Contemporary Art. 

International Bibliography of Art - T‚Äčhe definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). This source covers, among other eras, global art since 1945.

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.

JSTOR - JStor is a comprehensive scholarly journal archive.

Oxford Reference Online - Oxford Reference provides more than 60,000 concise definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries across Art and Architecture. 

Project MuseProject Muse covers nearly 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers, including those in the fields of Modern and Contemporary Art