Skip to main content

Scholarly Communication @ UT: Locating Open Access Journals

A guide to learn more about scholarly communication, including open access, copyright, and grant funding resources.

Ulrichsweb

Ulrichsweb allows you to search by title, ISSN or by search term to find journals in your field. You can narrow results by clicking on the "Open Access" option. OA journals are also indicated with the bright blue "unlocked" icon. Log into Esearch to access this database.

Cabell's Directory

Cabell's Directory offers the option to search by title, discipline or ISSN. Click on "Filters" to the right of the search box to show the bottom menu, and then click on "Open Access." Each type of OA is also clearly indicated on each title by a color coded unlocked icon. Log into Esearch to access this database.

Online Resources to Locate OA Journals

The Directory of Open Access Journals is an online directory that lists over 12,000 high quality, peer reviewed Open Access journals.

Public Library of Science (PLoS)BioMed Central, and F1000 are established Open Access publishers for scientific research. There are additional journals published by smaller publishers, and most major publishers offer 'hybrid Open Access publishing' with an APC fee.

Open Access publishing is growing in the humanities and social sciences. If you're publishing humanities research, the Open Library of Humanities is an exciting new Open Access publisher with no author publication charges.

You can also use the Co-Factor Journal Selector Tool to find both Open Access and toll access journals that fit your publishing requirements.

ISI Web of Knowledge

ISI Web of Knowledge allows users to search and refine by a number of different categories, so they can hone in on their particular research interests. Using these results, researchers can determine the most effective open access journals to place papers. Log into Esearch to access this database.

Limit to OA on left column menu.

Results clearly indicate where open access full text will be located (from publisher, in a repository, such as UT's IR, etc.).

Journal Citation Reports also can be refined by "Open Access" to find the impact factor for select OA journals in your field.