Skip to main content

Creative Writing: Databases, Journals, Articles

A guide for those pursuing a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing (MFA), and for undergraduates working on creative writing projects

Finding Articles

How to find articles in the library databases:

1. Start at http://utopia.ut.edu

2. Login to ESearch by using your Spartans Domain username and password.

3. Browse the list of databases and select an appropriate database for your subject.

4. It's time to begin your search! Enter your search terms and see your results.

5. Remember to limit your search to refine your results. Helpful limits include adjusting the date range or selecting peer-reviewed articles.

6. If you have any questions, ask a librarian!

Databases

The following databases are helpful for Creative Writing research.

ARTstor features user-friendly access to over 500,000 images of art, architecture, and archeology. 

JSTOR offers access to scholarly journals in a number of fields pertinent to Creative Writing, such as African American Studies, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Language and Literature, Philosophy, and more.

LION is a searchable collection of over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and criticism.

Oxford English Dictionary  is the predominant tool for researching etymology, an essential tool for the creative writer!

ProQuest is a comprehensive database with access to full-text journals on many subjects, including literature, psychology, science, and history.

Journals

Examples of useful journals for Creative Writing students:

Artforum is the lead resource on art today, looking at both contemporary and historical artists and movements.

Contemporary Literature is a comprehensive journal on the emerging and established writers in today's literature.

Feminist Theory is a journal with an interdisciplinary approach to current topics and debates in feminism.

Journal of Postcolonial Writing is a journal dedicated to the study of literature in postcolonial locations.

Narrative is a journal dedicated to the study of narrative forms, published by The Society for the Study of Narrative Literature.

New Literary History is one of the top journals in the field of literary theory and history.

Poetry is the renowned journal published by the Poetry Foundation.