Skip to main content

Center for Teaching and Learning: Center for Teaching and Learning

Information and resources available at The University of Tampa's Center for Teaching and Learning.

Center for Teaching & Learning Faculty/Staff Resource Guide

Reference Books

LEARNING | The Following Texts are on the Topic of learning - Specifically First-Year Students.

 

Cracking Creativity: The secrets of creative genius

by Michael Michalko

ISBN 0-89815-913-X

Publication Date: 1998 Ten Speed Press 

Description: 

In this book, Michael Michalko explains the idea-generating process in simple, easy-to-follow steps that absolutely anyone can use to become more creative. Each chapter examines a difference creative-thinking strategy, showing how it has worked for creative geniuses and providing exercises that allow you to put it to work in your business or personal life. Each strategy includes specific, practical techniques, with precise instructions on how to apply them to the business world and beyond.


Learning to Think: Disciplinary Perspectives

by Janet Gail Donald

ISBN 0-7879-1032-5

Publication Date: 2002 Jossey-Bass 

Description:

Learning to Think, shows how knowledge is structured and how professors and students perceive learning in their fields - and offers strategies for constructing and using knowledge that will help postsecondary institutions to promote students' intellectual development within and across the disciplines. 


Learning to Think Things Through: A guide to critical thinking across the curriculum - Fourth Edition. Examination Copy 

by Gerald M. Nosich

ISBN-13: 9780137085149

ISBN-10: 0132379171

Publication Year 2011 Pearson Education, Inc.

Learning to Think Things Through is a concise, effective guide designed to help students learn to think critically in any subject matter. A combination of instruction and exercises shows readers how to use critical thinking to become active learners - to more fully appreciate the power of the discipline they are studying, to see its connections to other fields and their day-to-day lives, and to maintain an overview of the field so they can see the parts in terms of the whole. The model of critical thinking is in terms the elements of reasoning, standards, and critical thinking process. 


The Miniature Guide to Critical Thinking: Concepts and Tools

by Dr. Richard Paul & Dr. Linda Elder

ISBN 978-0-944583-10-4

Publication Year 2010 by the Foundation for Critical Thinking

This small book was also an announcement advertising the 30th Annual International Conference on Critical Thinking. The book as a number of useful tools and information to assist in cracking the code to critical thinking. Apart from tools and guides, the book also contains brief activities to cause the reader to think more deeply about critical thinking. 


A Guide For Educators to Critical Thinking Competency Standards: 

Standards, Principles, Performance, Indicators, and Outcomes With a Critical Thinking Master Rubric

by Dr. Richard Paul and Dr. Linda Elder

ISBN 0-944583-30-X

Publication Year 2005 by the Foundation for Critical Thinking

This small book provides a framework for assessing students' critical thinking abilities. It enables administrators, teachers and faculty at all levels to determine the extent to which students are reasoning critically with any subject or discipline. This book contains several standards that will signal important habits of thought that will show in everyday learning. 


Critical Thinking, Reading, and Writing: A Brief Guide to Argument - 6th Edition

by Sylvan Barnet and Hugo Bedau

ISBN-13 978-0-312-45987-1

ISBN-10 0-312-45987-4

Publication Year 2008 by Bedford/ St. Martin's

Preface

"This book is a text about critical thinking and argumentation -- a book about getting ideas, using sources, evaluating kinds of evidence, and organizing material. It also includes about fifty readings, with a storing emphasis on contemporary arguments." 


Current Issues and Enduring Questions: A Guide to Critical Thinking and Argument, with Readings - 8th Edition

by Sylvan Barnet and Hugo Bedau

ISBN-13: 978-0-312-46545-2

ISBN-10: 0-312-46545-9

Publication Year 2008 by Bedford/ St. Martin's

 "Preface -

This text is about reading other people's arguments and writing your own arguments -- and it is also an anthology -- a collection of more than a hundred sections ranging from Plato to the present with a strong emphasis on contemporary arguments.

Students should be able to

  • Summarize accurately an argument they have read;
  • Locate the thesis ( the claim) of an argument;
  • Locate teh assumptions, stated and unstated;
  • Analyze and evaluate the strength of the evidence and the soundness of the reasoning offered in support of the thesis; and
  • Analyze, evaluate, and account for discrepancies among various reading s on a topic ( for example, explain why certain facts are used, why probable consequences of a proposed action are examined or are ignored, and why others are ignored, or why two sources might interpret the same facts differently).

Students should also be able to imagine an audience and write effectively for it (for instance, by using the appropriate tone and providing the appropriate amount of detail);

  • Present information in an orderly and coherent way;
  • Be aware of their own assumptions
  • Locate sources and incorporate them into their own writing, not simply by quoting extensively or by paraphrasing byt also by having digested material so that they can present it in their own words; 
  • Properly document all borrowings -- not merely quotations and paraphrases but also borrowed ideas and 
  • do all these things in the course of developing a thoughtful argument tof their own."

Improving the First Year of College: Research and Practice

By Robert S. Feldman

ISBN 0-8058-4815-0

Publication Year 2005 by Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Inc.

What are the factors that impact students during their first year? How can the academic and social experiences of first-year students be optimized? What can we do to to improve retention rates to maximize the number of students who complete college? This text employs a variety of perspectives from leading researchers and student-service providers to address these questions and examine the first year of college. This volume also highlights the development of learning communities and coaching ads well as how technology impacts student's first year. This book provides examples of best practices as determined through research by leaders in the field to permit educators to draw on their experiences.


Teach Yourself How to Learn: Strategies You Can Use to Ace Any Course at Any Level (2 Copies)

By Saundra Yancy McGuire with Stephanie McGuire

ISBN 13:978-1-62036-756-8

Publication Year 2018 by Stylus Publishing, LLC

This book gives an up close and personal look at Sundra Yancy McGuires student workshops that have vastly transformed student learning. You will read about struggles and successes and engage in ey opening exercises - granting readers the ability to reflect and the tools to put that reflection into practice. 


Higher Learning: Reading and Writing about College (Second Edition)

By Pati See and Bruce Taylor

ISBN-13: 978-0-13-114163-6

Publication Year 2006 Pearson Education, Inc.

This read offers inside stories of collegiate life and university culture. it addresses difficult issues and challenges that students face in their transition. Features include: Quality readings written by both students and professionals; Critical thinking points for each of the readings; Recommended films. 


Foundations for Learning: Claiming Your Education (Third Edition)

By Laurie L. Hazard and Jean-Paul Nadeau

ISBN-13: 978-0-13-231806-8

Publication Year 2006 Pearson Education Inc.

The focus of this book is on academic adjustment with personal development  issues integrated into the academic emphases theme of "claiming an education" and taking responsibility for one's own education. 


The Acquisition and Retention of Knowledge A Cognitive View

By David P. Ausubel

ISBN 0-7923-6505-4

Publication Year 2000 Kluwer Academic Publishers

This is a college level text book that provides a comprehensive and credible theory of how humans can learn and retain substantial and growing bodies of potentially meaningful, organized subject matter knowledge on an extended, long term basis. 


Learning to Learn 

Thinking Skills For the 21st Century - 12th Edition

By Marcia Heiman and Joshua Slomianko

ISBN 978-1-58390-196-0

Publication Year 2014 Learning to Learn, Inc.

This publication is the only college-level program the Department of Education found to have valid, controlled studies showeing significant, lasting impacts on students' grade point averages and retention thorough graduation.

The CTL office has two copies of this text.


Keys to Effective Learning 

Developing Powerful Habits of Mind

By Carol Carter, Joyce bishop, and Sarah Lyman Kravits

ISBN 0-13-229540-7

Publication Year 2008 Pearson Education, Inc.

Each chapter in this text focuses on a specific habit of mind that will help you reach your potential in school, at work, and in your personal life. 

One individual had this to say about Keys to Effective Learning,"This text builds on student strengths and allows students to define themselves, address their needs, and reflect on the progress they are making in the world of college. It is only in reflection that students identify and internalize the material." 

The CTL office has two copies of this text.


Challenging & Supporting The First-Year Student

A Handbook for Improving the First Year of College

By M. Lee Upcraft,  John N. Gardner, Betsy O. Barefoot, & Associates

ISBN 0-7879-5968-5

Publication Year 2005 Jossey-Bass

This work is an authoritative, comprehensive guide to the first year of college. The text includes the most current information about the policies, strategies, programs, and services designed to help first-year students makes a successful transition to college and fulfill their educational and personal goals. 


Creating Significant Learning Experiences

An Integrated Approach to Designing College Courses

L. Dee Fink

ISBN 0-7879-6055-1 

Publication Year 2003 Jossey-Bass

Dee Fink provides several conceptual and procedural tools that will be invaluable for all teachers when designing instruction He takes important existing ideas in the literature on college teaching (active learning, educative assessment), adds some new ideas (a taxonomy of significant learning, the concept of a teaching strategy, and shows how to combine these in a way that results in powerful learning experiences for students.


Journal of College Reading and Learning (JCRL)

Volume 48, Issue 1, 2018

By Nita Meola and Sydney Granger Saumby

ISBN 1079-0195

Publication Year 2018 Routledge Taylor & Francis Group

The College Reading and Learning Association celebrates its 50th Anniversary with this Special Issue of the Journal of College reading and Learnt. This issue reviews and explores the last 50 years and then uses the last half-century to help predict and explore the ways in which college learning professionals can best support students in the future. 


Journal of College Reading and Learning (JCRL)

Volume 48, Issue 2, 2018

By Jeanine L. Williams, Sarah Felber, and Deena Vaughn

ISBN 1079-0195

Publication Year 2018 Routledge Taylor & Francis Group

Studies in this journal present a range of findings from the impact of various writing ecologies nad the implications of students' time management practices to the gap between students' and instructors' perceptions of the students' writing abilities. Each article provides new insights that will advance understanding of college teaching and Learning. 


Journal of College Reading and Learning (JCRL)

Volume 49, Issue 1, 2019

By Jeanine L. Williams, Sarah Felber, and Deena Vaughn

ISBN 1079-0195

Publication Year 2018 Routledge Taylor & Francis Group

This Journal ushers in the New Year with Volume 49 and includes four articles on the important work being performed in the fields of postsecondary literacy and learning. Focusing on students' strategic processing, author Nicole Martin, for example, explores the strategies that postsecondary students use when reading varied expository texts. 


Research Reports on College Transitions No. 4

2012-2013 National Survey of First-Year Seminars: 

Exploring High-Impact Practices in the First College Year

By Dallin George Young and Jessica M. Hopp

ISBN 978-1-889271-90-3

Publication Year 2014 National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience and Students in Transition

Every three years since 1988, the National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience and Students in Transition has conducted a nationwide survey to collect data on first-year seminars. The intention is to understand a complex and diverse collection of curricular initiatives aimed at fostering active participation in learning and student development in the first college year. 


Research Reports on College Transition No. 5

An Exploration of Intersecting Identities of First-Generation, Low-income Students

By Rashne R. Jehangir, Michael J. Stebleton, and Veronica Deenanath

ISBN 9781889271972

Publication Year 2015 National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience and Students in Transition

This publication shines a light on the identities, struggles, and challenges that are presented when it comes to first generation students. There has been much literature written about the experiences of students who are first in their families to go to college. The purpose of the study was to first, bring attention to the experience of low-income, FG student beyond the first-year. And secondly, to create space for these students to reflect back on their collegiate journey with the intent of capturing both the challenges they faced and the forms of agency they employed to persist. The primary audience is faculty members, staff and administrators at four-year institutions. It also serves to bring about a further understanding of how educators and higher education professionals in various intuitional settings can best cater to the first-generation student population. 


The First-Year Experience Monograph Series No. 44

Common Reading Programs | Going Beyond the Book

By Jodi Levine Laufgraben

ISBN 10 1-889271-53-5

Publication Year 2006 | National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience and Students in Transition

This text sheds a further light on First-Year programs, more specifically on their reading programs. Literature on First-Year programs has become increasingly popular. However, little has been written on what First-year reading programs are and on the extent to which they achieve academic objectives. Some programs have grown to include library exhibits, film series, theatrical performances, and grant-funded faculty development experiences. These programs go far beyond simply reading and reporting. This work touches on a deeper look into how campuses "move beyond the book as an orientation event to create an ongoing and engaging academic initiative for students?"  


Welcoming Blue-Collar Scholars into the Ivory Tower | Developing Class-Conscious Strategies for Student Success

Krista M. Soria

ISBN 9781889271965

Publication Year 2015 | National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience and Students in Transition

Welcoming Blue-Collar Scholars Into the Ivory Tower, provides an engaging perspective on class-driven society and it's relationship to higher-education. Soria depicts the challenges faced by those coming from working backgrounds, as well as those who come from lower-income families. Soria also provides steps to bridge the gaps created by class, and socioeconomic status. This work offers guidance and provides unique solutions to a increasing problem in higher education. 


Faculty Resource Manual 4.0 | CD-Disk Format

University 101 Programs

2015 University of South Carolina


Peer Coaches as a Retention Tool | DVD Format

Webinar Series | PaperClip Communication

 Increase Engagement, Academic Success, and Graduation Rates Across Diverse Student Populations. 

April 4, 2018


ADVISING | The Following Texts are on the Topic of Advising

 

A publication of the National Academic Advising Association

Academic Advising | A Comprehensive Handbook

Virginia N. Gordon, Wesley R. Habley and Associates

ISBN 0-7879-5025-4

Publication Year 2000 | Jossey-Bass

This text address, what it defines as one of the greatest challenges in higher education. Advising is no small task, for the academic advisor, there are as many hurdles as there are for opportunities for growth and change. The continuous growth of enrollment rates. the changing of curricula, and the advent of technology are just some of the topics that are addressed in this text. This handbook not only clarifies the current status of academic advising but also envisions its role and practice for the future. A comprehensive collection of more thn thirty experts offer knowledge and advice in this reference. 


Academic Advising | New Insights for Teaching and Learning in the First Year

Mary Stuart Hunter, Betsy McCalla-Wriggins, and Eric R. White

ISBN 978-1-889-27155-2

Publication Year 2007 | National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience and Students in Transition

Academic Advising, New Insights, is broken up into 3 sections. The first section address the 21st century college student and advises what to expect when creating and shaping educational processes of new college students. The text highlights the importance of change and the critical issues those changes bring. This work also sets readers up for success by suggesting and explaining strategies for advising diverse populations of first year students. The text concludes with a synopsis on the challenges facing advising in the 21st century as well as recommendations for an individual advisor to consider when developing and enhancing and academic advising program.  


Strategic Leadership in Academic Affairs | Clarifying the board's Responsibilities

Richard L. Morrill 

Publication Year 2002 | Association of Governing Boards (AGB)

The purpose of this work is to reduce the inevitable ambiguities that accompany the board's policy responsibilities for academic affairs. In other words this text highlights the roles that the governing board of an institutions plays and demonstrates the leadership qualities and ethics that should be applied to a board member. Some board have gone well beyond the reasonable bounds of responsible trusteeship by making ideological intrusions into curricular decisions. This book is a wealth of useful ideas and concepts that can help trustees monitor the institution's effectiveness. Selected chapters can serve as the focus of discussions at committee and board meetings. 


Faculty Skills & Resources | The Following Texts are on the Topic of faculty development.

 

The Mentors Guide | Facilitating Effective Learning Relationships 2nd Edition

Lois J. Zachary

ISBN 978-0-470-90772-6

Publication Year 2012 | Jossey-Bass

This text explores the critical process of mentoring and presents practical tools for facilitating the experience from beginning to end. Managers, teachers, and leaders from any career, professional, or educational setting can successfully navigate the learning journey by using the hands-on exercises in this unique resource. 


Electronic Portfolios | Emerging Practices in Student, Faculty, and Institutional Learning

Barbara L. Cambridge

ISBN 1-56377-050-4

Publication Year 2001 | Stylus Publishing, LLC.

The portfolio is a powerful tool for learning and assessment. This volume examines the potential of electronic portfolios. This work contains chapters written by 19 portfolio practitioners from a range of disciplines and institutions. 


Choosing Civility 

The Twenty-Five Rules of Considerate Conduct

P. M. Forni

ISBN 0-312-28118-8

Publication Year 2002 St. Martin's Press

This short read, asks and seeks to address 'what is civility'? and 'what does it look like today'? The purpose of this book is to makes persuasive case for making civility a central concern in our lives. Dr. Forni offers the notion that civility is a code of decency to be applied in everyday life. 


Diversity & Motivation | Culturally Responsive Teaching

Raymond J. Wlowdkowski and Margery B. Ginsberg

ISBN 0-7879-6742-4

Publication Year 1995 Jossey-Bass

This work addresses the continuous growth and expansion of multiculturalism and it's meaning for higher education. Specifically the authors of this text attempt to provide guidance and assistance in the daunting task of diversifying approaches to learning and education. This book seeks to inspire a conceptual framework for culturally responsive teaching by engaging the reader and providing useful instructional strategies that promote a community-centered approach to teaching and learning. 


Developing Intercultural Awareness | A cross-cultural training handbook (2nd edition)

L. Robert Kohls and John M. Knight

ISBN 1-877864-13-7

Publication Year 1994 | Intercultural Press

The body of this work is presented in twenty-one "Resource" sections. These sections include, simulation games, case studies, and ice-breakers, values, communication and other exercises. It is a proactive training and teaching tool for those looking to improve upon and further develop their cultural awareness. 


Bridging Troubled Waters | Conflict Resolution From the Heart

Michelle LeBaron

ISBN 0-7879-4821-7

Publication Year 2002 | Jossey-Bass

This text is centered in relationship and creativity. This book is the result of over two decades of teaching and practicing in organizations and institutions around the world - pairing the art and techniques of humanity and the science of conflict resolution practice. This text offers a holistic and robust approach to resolving conflict, beginning where much of the currently accepted theory and practice in the field leaves off. from relationships come connection, meaning and identity. 


Improving Higher Education Environments for Adults 

Nancy K. Schlossberg, Ann Q. Lynch, and Arthur W. Chickering

ISBN 1-55542-136-9

Publication Year 1989 | Jossey-Bass

This text details programs and services colleges and universities must implement t effectively meet the needs of adult students. This book uses numerous practical vignettes pulled from real-life experiences. The authors illustrate exactly how the demands of adult learners differ from those of traditional undergraduates and  explain what student services professionals can do to make their programs more responsive. 


Building Partnerships for Service-Learning

Barbara Jacoby and Associates

ISBN 0-7879-5890-5

Publication Year 2003 | Jossey-Bass

To be successful, service-learning must be grounded in a wide range of solid reciprocal democratic partnerships. This text is filled with vital information, exemplary models, and practical tools needed rto make service-learning succeed. 


Integrity Management | A Guide to Managing Legal and Ethical Issues in the Workplace

Debbie Thorne LeClair, O.C. Ferrell, John P. Fraedrich

ISBN 0-7879-0925-4

Publication Year 1998 | Jossey-Bass

This comprehensive resource gathers together in one volume the many theories in forming the current understanding of students' intellectual, cognitive, social, moral, and identity development during the college years. It critically examines the recent body of theory that reflects the changes, complexity, and diversity of today's students, with special emphasis on gender and cultural differences in student development. 


Student Development in College | Theory, Research, and Practice

Nancy J. Evans, Deanna S. Forney, and Florence Guido-DiBrito

ISBN 1-879852-55-1

Publication Year 1998 | University of Tampa Press

This text explores questions such as, "Why does integrity in the workplace continue to create headlines?" "Why are socially responsible firms increasingly preferred by customers?" and "Why can't more companies manage problems that become public scandals and legal headaches?" 

The issue of ethical practice and law is more than common sense - the complexity of relationships in our society requires that organizations proactively pursue workplace integrity. This book seeks to answer the questions above and provide ways in which to implement and manage integrity in hte workplace.

Center for Teaching & Learning Faculty/Staff Resource Guide