Skip to main content

PAM Physician Assistant Medicine: Articles

In order to access the databases when you are outside the library, go to Esearch and enter your Spartans Domain user name and password. There is a link to Esearch on the library's front page. If you need assistance with your Spartans Domain log-in information, please contact the IT Help Desk at StudentHelp@ut.edu or at x6255.

Even if you are using outside sources like Google Scholar log into Esearch first.

 

PEER REVIEW

In publishing, the object of peer review is to evaluate the quality of articles submitted for publication in a scholarly journal before the submitted article is considered worthy of publication.  A peer-reviewed journal has a process for scholars in the same area as the submitted article will review it as to its merits.

Interlibrary Loan

For articles, fill out this online form or email ILLArticle@ut.edu.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a process where we borrow materials we don’t own from other libraries. This process can take up to a week (more or less, depending on the availability and format), so please plan ahead.

This service is available for current UT faculty, staff, students, registered alumni, emeritus faculty and Friends of the Library.

ILL is not available for currently assigned textbooks, and it is sometimes difficult to borrow audio/visual material, reference books, and whole issues of journals and magazines.

Before submitting a request, please check our catalog to see if we own a book, DVD, or CD, and Ejournals to see if we have access to an article.

We will forward articles to your email when they come in via Article Exchange (AE). AE is a service provided by OCLC, the organization that supports interlibrary loan throughout the world. This service allows for secure transmission of documents, regardless of size, through a link and password system, which also enhances copyright compliance in online ILL sharing.

If there are any problems in locating the material (or there is a charge associated with borrowing, which is uncommon), we will contact you.

If you need any help with your research, please don’t hesitate to contact the reference desk .

Databases of Interest

Cinahl - Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 19provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Clinical Answers, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register  This group of Cochran databases is included in the Ebsco database collection.    

ISI Web of Science previously ISI Web of Knowledge - It is a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

Joanna Briggs Institute JBI's evidence-based practice resources assist healthcare professionals to implement an effective evidence-based practice program to provide the best possible patient care

Ovid A  comprehensive database of Ovid medical, nursing and healthcare journals. This site will also allow you to simultaneously link you to the Joanna Briggs Evidence Based Practice database.

PsycInfo is produced by  a department of the American Psychological Association (APA) Sources include over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. Additionally, there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters.

Pubmed provides access to the NLM's premier bibliographic database(MEDLINE) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.  MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.  It is publicly available.

Journals of Special Interest

JAAPA - Journal of the American Academy of Physicians Assistants

A peer-reviewed forum dedicated to education and the advancement of the PA profession. The goal of the Journal is to improve health care by publishing current information and research on clinical care, education, health policy, and professional issues. The Journal is the official scientific publication of the American Academy of Physician Assistants.