Skip to main content

PAM Physician Assistant Medicine: Internet Sources

ACCESSSS Smart Search Best evidence for health care - A service to help provide current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts searches simultaneously in several evidence-based information services (online evidence-based texts, evidence-based guidelines and pre-appraised journal publications).

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) - The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.

AHRQ Evidence Reports - Evidence-Based Practice Center (EPC) reports are used for informing and developing coverage decisions, quality measures, educational materials and tools, guidelines, and research agendas.

American Academy of Physician Assistants - American Academy of PAs is the national professional society for PAs. It represents a profession of more than 131,000 PAs across all medical and surgical specialties in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories, and the uniformed services.

Center for Disease Control - For over 60 years, CDC has been dedicated to protecting health and promoting quality of life through the prevention and control of disease, injury, and disability. We are committed to programs that reduce the health and economic consequences of the leading causes of death and disability, thereby ensuring a long, productive, healthy life for all people.

ClinicalTrials.gov - ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

Cochrane Collaboration - Global independent network of researchers, professionals, patients, carers, and people interested in health. Cochrane contributors: 37,000 from more than 130 countries, work together to produce credible, accessible health information that is free from commercial sponsorship and other conflicts of interest. Many of the contributors are world leaders in their fields, medicine, health policy, research methodology, or consumer advocacy. Groups are situated in some of the world's most respected academic and medical institutions.

Epistemonikos - Best of Evidence-Based Health Care, information technologies and a network of experts to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions.

Evidence-Based Medicine - BMJ Journals - Evidence-Based Medicine provides you with all the information you need. BMJ scans 100 journals and around 50,000 articles a year so that we can identify the most important and valid 140 research articles and publish them in Evidence-Based Medicine.

Health Services/Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT) - NCBI Bookshelf - Web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health-care decision making. Includes evidence-based reviews from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

healthevidence.org - Access to 4,328 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions. Published literature is thoroughly and public health relevant reviews are compiled.

Improvement Science Research Network - The Improvement Science Research Network (ISRN) aims to accelerate the development and dissemination of interprofessional improvement science in a systems context across multiple sites. Across the country, healthcare experts, administrators, researchers, and clinicians are devising and testing new strategies to improve the safety and quality of patient care.

Joint Commission : Helping Health Care Organizations Help Patients - An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 20,500 health care organizations and programs in the United States. Joint Commission accreditation and certification is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to meeting certain performance standards.

Merck Manual - One of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. The Merck Manual is continuously is expanding the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.

National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants - The National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants is the only certifying organization for physician assistants in the United States. NCCPA is dedicated to assuring the public that certified PAs meet established standards of clinical knowledge and cognitive skills upon entry into practice and throughout their careers.

National Guideline Clearinghouse - The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

National Health Service Corps - The National Health Service Corps builds healthy communities by supporting qualified health care providers dedicated to working in areas of the United States with limited access to care.

Physician Assistant Education Association - PAEA is the only national organization representing physician assistant educational programs in the United States. Currently, all of the accredited programs in the country are members of the Association. PAEA provides services for faculty at its member programs, as well as to applicants, students, and other stakeholders.

Physician Assistant History Society - The Physician Assistant History Society, Inc., is dedicated to the history and legacy of the physician assistant profession through the identification and collection of appropriate papers, manuscripts, magazine and newspaper clippings, newsletters, reports, dissertations, oral histories, and visual artifacts, such as films, slides, videos, photographs, and digital images.

The Physician Assistant Life - Websites, Blog, and Board Review Resources dedicated to physician assistants and the PA profession. Site offers personal statement assistance, mock PA school interviews, and one-of-a-kind PANCE/PANRE board review prep. We work with PAs and Pre-PAs who wish to make a positive impact in the world around them!

PubMed - PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Quality Indicators (AHRQ) - The Quality Indicators (QIs) are measures of health care quality that make use of readily available hospital inpatient administrative data. The current AHRQ QI™ modules expand HCUP QIs. The QIs can be used to highlight potential quality concerns, identify areas that need further study and investigation, and track changes over time.

Society of Emergency Medicine Physician Assistants - SEMPA strives to advance, protect, and promote the role of EMPAs through education, advocacy, collaboration and research. The organization serves as the definitive resource for practice, education, and professional development of members.

Student Academy of AAPA - The mission of the Student Academy is to foster the personal and professional development of physician assistant students, encourage educational excellence, and advocate for student and professional issues.

Trip Database (clinical search engine) - Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Their motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something they aim to deliver for every single search.As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - The mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) is to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. They fulfill that mission by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services.