Skip to main content

FMX: Film Production, Animation and New Media: Articles + Online Resources

Use this guide to help you with class projects involving digital and film production, animation, and new media studies. For majors, minors, and students taking courses in FMX and Communications.

Find articles on FMX subjects

Most of the databases offered by the Macdonald-Kelce Library are multidisciplinary. Below is a grouping of relevant resources for FMX related topics, including scholarly articles on film and media studies, broadcasting, screenplays, etc. and reviews. Stop by the Reference Desk if you are having difficulty searching any database.

Databases

Databases in this list are all UT-accessible only . Sign into Esearch to gain access. 

________________________________________

Communication & Mass Media Complete - Search a quality collection of communication and mass media articles.

Humanities Full Text - This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Humanities Full Text encompasses all key fields of the humanities, covering topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and more.

JSTOR - A scholarly journal archive with full-text access to historic materials.

MLA Bibliography - The fundamental research tool for the humanities, MLA covers international scholarly articles mostly on literature, with materials you can find on film and television studies. This database includes over 1.4 million citations from over 3,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as monographs, working papers and conference proceedings. Checkout the Proquest Libguide about the MLA bibliography.

New York Times Historical Archive - Access film and TV reviews here.

Project Muse  - Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

ProQuest - One of the most comprehensive databases available. Provides access to full-text journals across a wide range of subject areas, including media and communication studies.

Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982  A digital archive of the Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature, the ultimate index of subjects in the popular press. Find popular entertainment, film, and television magazines.

SAGE - A multidisciplinary collection that offers peer-reviewed journals on the cultural studies, the social sciences, and the humanities.

Vogue Archive - The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day. In addition to the editorial content, all covers, advertisements and pictorial features have been captured as separate documents to allow for searching and discovery.

Online Resources

There are thousands of quality online resources to explore (and about a million more of less-than-quality blogs/websites). These are just a selection of excellent sites and online journals, and for the most part feature collections of archived digitized publications. If you are unsure of what you can safely cite in your research paper, ask a Librarian and/or your Professor.

American Radio History - Access thousands of digitized historic journals on radio, broadcasting, and sound recording.

Domitor Journals Project -  Domitor, an association of the International Society for the Study of Early Cinema, offers digital collections of international periodicals relevant to early cinema studies.

Literature Index - Originally in print, FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.

Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections - The library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences presents a curated selection of materials from the library's extensive holdings on motion picture history. Items include correspondence, photographs, sheet music, scrapbooks, lobby cards, movie ephemera, books, film magazines and industry publications. The collections also provide access to publications of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences dating back to the founding of the organization in 1927.UCLA's journal of Cinema and Media Studies.

Mediascape - UCLA's journal of film and media studies from the School of Film, Television and Digital Media.

Media History Digital Library - A collection of digitized works on film, broadcasting, and recorded sound in the public domain (free!).

Motion Picture Script Database -  Film script holdings of seven Los Angeles area collections: the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences; the American Film Institute; the Frances Howard Goldwyn Hollywood Regional Library; the University of California, Los Angeles; the University of Southern California; the Writers Guild of America, West; and the Warner Bros. Archives at University of Southern California's School of Cinematic Arts.

MOVIE: A Journal of Film Criticism - Critical research on film and television. This journal is a joint venture between the Universities of Warwick, Reading, and Oxford.

ScreenSite - An aggregate of online journals, magazines, and blogs on the study of film, television, and related media. Produced by the Telecommunication and Film Department of the University of Alabama in partnership with the Society for Cinema and Media Studies.