Skip to main content

FMX: Film Production, Animation and New Media: Film and Video Collections

Use this guide to help you with class projects involving digital and film production, animation, and new media studies. For majors, minors, and students taking courses in FMX and Communications.

Searching UTOPIA for Films

Find DVDs using the Library's catalog: Search UTOPIA

NOTE: All DVDs in the collection must be requested at the Circulation Desk.

How to search for videos in the library collection:

Find specific films by searching for the title of the film, and under Quick Limit, select DVDs.

Streaming Videos

Library Resources

  • Kanopy: A streaming service with hundreds of feature films and documentaries on every subject.
  • Academic Video Online (Alexander Street): The collections include a comprehensive offering of silent era films, which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Additionally, the contemporary collection offers award winning selections from over 60 countries, providing a window into a wide range of cultures and sociological issues around the world.
  • Films on Demand: Collection of educational videos in dozens of subject areas.
  • Digitalia Film Library: Wide range of cinema and documentary collections.
  • Digital Theatre Plus: Live tapings of theatrical performances.

Subscription Services

Netflix, Hulu, and Amazon Prime are the largest subscription services for streaming film if you're having trouble getting a film through the library.

Subscription Aggregators

Services such as Can I Stream.It? and GoWatchIt attempt to aggregate the content the major subscription services are serving. However, they are not always perfect, and it is best to double-check against the specific services as well.

In addition to these, IMDb will often list upcoming TV broadcasts of movies and shows, as well as provide links to content on Amazon (although that content is not guaranteed to be free for Prime customers).

High Quality Video Releases

DVD and Blu-Ray editions of films often vary widely in the quality of the film transfer and the types of extra content. As a general rule of thumb, most blu-ray editions are higher quality than DVD editions.

If you're trying to ensure you get a high-quality image, or want scholarly extra content, two review sites of note are criterionforum.org and blu-ray.com.

Specialty Distributors

Another way to usually guarantee a higher quality release is to find an edition released by a specialty distributor, several of which are listed below. These distributors are also a great resource for finding many obscure films.

Please note, however, that this list is far from exhaustive, as there are many niche distributors dedicated to various specialties in film. It also does not include any UK distributors, of which there are several, since they will not work in most American blu-ray or DVD players.

Out of the list above, The Criterion Collection is by far the industry leader in the US for these types of special releases, and practically always include scholarly materials.