Skip to main content

E-books: Finding e-books

A guide to help you find ebooks in the Library Catalog.

E-books

There are two ways of finding ebooks in the Library: through the Online Catalog and in the Databases (listed below). Please note that not every e-book available to you is catalogued in the Online Catalog, so check all resources. A list of freely available e-books are provided below.

Finding e-books in the Online Catalog

To browse e-books in the catalog, click on the "All Limits" button on the lower right corner of the red search box, then click on "E-books" in the "Location" list. Click "Set Limits" and begin searching.

Here is an example of an ebook record in the catalog. Note that the location says "INTERNET." Just click the link provided to access the ebook.

Finding e-books in the Databases

Please log into Esearch first to access these databases

EBSCO Ebook CollectionA large selection of multidisciplinary e-book titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Browse by category or search by keyword.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Currently we subscribe to reference materials in the subjects of Business, Education, National and World Affairs and Social Science.

ABC-CLIO eBooks: A collection of e-books that contain information on popular culture, multicultural studies, global issues, history, sociology, and many more topics of interest.

Ebrary: An online collection of e-books that contain information on various subjects. Provides continuous access to e-books from many scholarly publishers.

Oxford Reference Online: - The Core Collection brings together 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books, plus an Encyclopedia, into a single cross-searchable web database for the first time.

 Three e-book databases:

CHEMnetBASE -Offers 12 separate reference sources that cover a broad area of chemistry information, including the Chemistry and Physics Handbook, Dictionary of Drugs, and the Dictionary of Food Compounds.

FORENSICnetBASE - Contains content from world’s premier forensic science publications from CRC Press. These electronic reference books provide information on forensic analysis, criminal justice, law, law enforcement, counterterrorism, and more.

ITechnetbase - Contains authoritative resources for the study, design, development, implementation, support, or management of computer-based information systems.

 

Tip: Check Worldcat.org to see if University of Tampa has the e-book if you can't find it in our catalog. This means that it's probably in one of the databases above.

Free E-books

  • HathiTrust Digital Library:  A free collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
  • Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg offers over 53,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
  • Internet Archive: The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 10,000,000 fully accessible books and texts. There is also a collection of 300,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed or downloaded.
  • Amazon: You can find Amazon's top 100 free e-books for the Kindle here 
  • Google: Here's Google's page for their most popular free e-books
  • Feedbooks: An offering of thousands of public domain e-books
  • Hillsborough County Public Library: The local public library supports checking out e-books to your desktop, laptop, tablet, phone, or Kindle on multiple platforms. Here's the e-book page for the HCPLC. Join for free as a Tampa resident and get a library card to access their physical and digital book collection.

Subject Guide

Leslie Vega
http://libguides.utopia.ut.edu/researchhelp
Contact:
Macdonald-Kelce Library
The University of Tampa
401 W. Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33606
813-257-3244
Website / Blog Page