Skip to main content

Scholarly Communication @ UT: Grant Funding Resources

A guide to learn more about scholarly communication, including open access, copyright, and grant funding resources.

Recording of Fall 2019 Grant Funding Opportunities CTL Talk

To listen to the recording of the Fall 2019 CTL Talk: Strategies for Finding Grant Opportunities presented by Lorelei Sells, Director of Sponsored Programs, and Shannon Spencer, Reference Librarian, click here.

Locating Funders

FOUNDATION DIRECTORY ONLINE

The Foundation Directory Online provides comprehensive and up-to-date knowledge and insight on grantfunders and inside looks at they grants they've actually made.

This subscription allows for only 2 simultaneous logins, and users MUST be logged in by a librarian, either at the Library or in your office.

  • 140,000+ expanded grantmaker profiles
  • 700,000+ recipient profiles
  • 500,000+ key decision makers and leaders
  • Searchable 990s and 990-PFs
  • My FDO
  • Pathways
  • 12 MILLION + grants
  • Maps and charts
  • Federal Grants

Checkout these handy help videos for tips on how to master FDO in minutes.

  • Navigate search results like a pro to build your prospect list
  • Discover opportunities through Recipient profiles
  • Enhance your understanding of opportunities, through interactive charts
  • Connect to prospects with FDO’s LinkedIn integration

Explore their Knowledge Base for more information.

WEB OF SCIENCE (Log into Esearch for access)

Find out what organizations are funding research in your field.  Search using 'Funding Agency' name or 'Grant Number' in Web of Science.  This information can be found in a full record's view under the Funding table, where all items are indexed directly from the 'Acknowledgment' section of the primary source. Funding information has been made available since 2008 in the Science Citation Index and since 2015 in the Social Science Citation Index and the Emerging Sources Citation Index. 

The names of these funding agencies are not unified as are institution addresses, therefore you should search name variants, including acronyms. A recent update to the Core Collection data includes funding information from Medline and Research Fish, adding more than 1.5 million records, including publications prior to 2008.

Web of Knowledge is also helpful for identifying potential collaborators in your field and journals to place your work.

Demographics Information

To access these databases*, you must be logged into Esearch.

Demographics Now*

From population and Census data to housing expenditures, users of DemographicsNow will have access to demographic information including income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, consumer expenditures, businesses and more. Run an unlimited number of reports in summary, comparison or ranking formats. Compare statistics from multiple geographies in tabular format for easy analysis; summarize demographic information on a single geographic area or group multiple geographies into a single value; and rank multiple geographies using a single demographic variable

Statista*

Statista.com is one of the first statistic portals in the world to integrate data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform.

These government resources are freely available on the web.

Economic Census

The Economic Census is the U.S. government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy.

U.S. Census

The United States Census Bureau is a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System, responsible for producing data about the American people and economy.

 

Embargoes

On February 22, 2013, the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) released a memorandum entitled “Increasing Access to the Results of Federally Funded Research.” It directed Federal agencies with more than $100 million in research and development (R&D) expenditures to develop plans to make the published results of federally funded research freely available to the public within one year of publication, and it required researchers to better account for and manage the digital data resulting from federally funded scientific research.

National Institute of Health (NIH) Policy

National Science Foundation (NSF) Policy

Sherpa/Juliet: is a searchable database and single focal point of up-to-date information concerning funders' policies and their requirements on open access, publication and data archiving.

Campus Resources for Research (Grant Funded or Not)

Sponsored Programs

The Office of Sponsored Programs promotes and supports the academic excellence of The University of Tampa by guiding members of the faculty and administrators to identify, garner and manage sponsored program funding. The goal is to support programs that advance the mission, build partnerships and enhance the reputation of the University while benefiting students, faculty, staff and the greater community. Checkout the database GrantForward and sign up for alerts in your area/discipline.

The Institutional Review Board

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) at The University of Tampa is responsible for approving studies done by UT faculty, staff or students that involve human participants, whether they are grant funded or not. The IRB is comprised of five University members from across the colleges and one outside member.

The full University policy concerning the IRB can be found in the Faculty Handbook (Chapter 6, part VIII). The most recent update to the policy was approved by the Faculty Senate in October 2011. Institutional Review Board FAQ explains IRB procedures in a concise manner.

The Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

The Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) is a federally mandated committee that is in place to ensure the proper and ethical use of all non-human vertebrate animals in the classroom and research facilities at UT. UT-IACUC follows policies required by the Office of Laboratory Animal Welfare (OLAW) of the Public Health Service and will oversee that all work with non-human vertebrates comply with the Animal Welfare Act and Public Health Service policy. Any UT faculty or staff planning to use non-human vertebrate animals in their research or teaching must submit an application for use of vertebrate animals, whether the research involves a grant or not. All approved applications are valid for three years, assuming no changes are made to the approved procedures.

The Macdonald-Kelce Library

The Macdonald-Kelce Library provides access to over a hundred research databases, which include thousands of peer reviewed articles in all disciplines, and databases that identify funding sources (such as Foundation Directory Online and ISI Web of Knowledge).

Requirements to Make Open Access or Deposit Data

Sometimes grants require that researchers make their work and/or data freely available, either immediately, or after an embargo. The University of Tampa's Institutional Repository provides such a place for UT researchers, both faculty and students, to deposit their work in compliance with such guidelines.

Books in the Library