Skip to main content
UTIcon
Macdonald-Kelce Library

Continuity of Library Services: Updates and FAQ

A guide on how the library can help you with online teaching and learning in Spring 2020. Please see ut.edu homepage for COVID-19 updates

Updates

The library building is closed until further notice.

Below are answers to some of the questions we've received and updates on services available to you.

Check UT's COVID-19 page for information about UT's response. See UT's Fall 2020 Opening for updates on the Fall semester.

Interlibrary loan update: Please hold on to your interlibrary books regardless of due date. Physical items can no longer be borrowed. You may still make requests for articles and book chapters through the library's interlibrary loan form.

If the answer is not below contact a librarian.

Online resources and reference/research help is available. See below for ways to contact a librarian.

Librarians are still available to help you with your research and to assist with your information needs:

  • Individual librarians can be reached by email via the contacts page
  • by library reference help below (sends an email to a librarian)
  • or by the chat function also below.

Sign into Esearch to access articles

Use Summon to cross search the library catalog (books, DVDs, government documents) and most of the library databases (journal articles, images, newspapers).

Advanced Search

Chat with a Librarian

Email a Librarian

If no one is available through chat you can send us a message here and we'll get back to you as soon as one of our reference librarians gets back online.

 

 

FAQ

Q: Is the library open?

A: The library building is closed (starting Sunday, March 22), but remote library services continue.

Q: Can I extend the due date on my book?

A: Late fines will not be issued this semester and due dates will be extended to the end of the semester. Check back later for an answer on how to return books if you are not returning to campus.

Q: How can I check out a book?

A: The library is closed for the time being, so there is no access to our physical book collection.

Q: Can I drop my books off when the library is closed?

A: Yes, please use the book drop box to the left of the front doors of the MKL building.

Q: Can I use interlibrary loan?

A: Starting March 26 we are no longer able to acquire physical items through interlibrary loan. You may still make requests for articles and book chapters through the library's interlibrary loan form, though since many libraries have shut down their lending operations, it is likely your requested items will not be available.

Q: I have an interlibrary loan book that is due. How do I return it?

A: We ask that you hold on to these items for now, regardless of due date. Please disregard previous notices about due dates for the time being. We'll provide an update when the situation changes. 

Q: Can I check out a laptop?

A: Laptop checkouts are not currently available.

Q: How do I access course reserves?

A: If you're having trouble access something on reserves, or need to ask about placing something on reserves, contact a librarian.

Q: Can I get research help?

A: Yes! Contact a librarian through chat or email.

Q: I can't get to a database.

A: Contact a librarian.

Q: When will the library be open again?
A: This is still to be determined. As of March 22, the library will be closed until further notice. Check this guide for further updates.
 
Q: Can I still schedule a one-on-one meeting with a librarian?
A: For both student and staff safety, all services are currently available only online. We do have chat and screen sharing capabilities via Zoom. If you want to work with a specific librarian, contact them about setting up an appointment.  Use this link to find your subject librarian.

 
Q: I think I left a personal belonging in the library; is there any way to check/retrieve it?
A: All library lost and found items have been turned over to campus security. Contact the security office at (813) 257-7777.

Services

Reference/Research Help: Reference/Research help is available. Contact a librarian.

Research Guides: You may find some useful information in our collection of research guides.

Computer Labs: Computer Labs are not available.

Laptop Checkout: Laptop Checkout is not available.

Reserves: For questions about reserves contact Darrin White at dwhite@ut.edu.

Library Instruction: We can provide a video presentation via Zoom. Contact David Davisson at ddavisson@ut.edu.

Government Documents: Most government documents are available online.

Gift books: To donate items to the library contact Jeanne Vince at jvince@ut.edu.

Access to the building: Contact Director Marlyn Pethe at mpethe@ut.edu.

Database Access

You should still have access to the entire database collection. Sign into Esearch to browse all library databases, or search Summon to cross-search many of the databases at once.

For more help with finding eBooks or films see the E-books, Online Periodicals and Streaming Services guide. 

If you are having trouble accessing a database contact one of the librarians through chat or email.

Expanded Collections

In consideration of the limitations put upon students and faculty during this outbreak of COVID-19, some vendors and book presses are opening up their collections for free use during a limited time. Check the list of open-access ebooks under the "EBooks" tab on this guide for further resources.

A full list of vendors and publishers that are offering expanded services can be found here.

Check to see whether your assigned book is available in these platforms:

Red Shelf: An eBook platform that is usually pay to read. Create a free account with your UT email to access up to 7 free eBooks until May 25.

VitalSource: Another eBook platform that is offering course materials for free until May 25. Sign up for an account using your UT email.

McGraw Hill Medical: (sign into Esearch first)

Access Physiotherapy

F. A. Davis AT Collection

ProQuest Ebook Central: ProQuest has partnered with more than 100 publishers to support libraries in providing unlimited access to Ebook Central holdings for all patrons – at no extra charge. Log into Esearch before browsing.

EBSCO Open Educational Resources (OER) - Search EBSCO Faculty Select eBook Collection (click Faculty Select) and limit to "OER Only" to access free eBooks/Textbooks.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility