UTIcon
Macdonald-Kelce Library

Political Science

A guide to politics, policy, and political science.

Use the facets in the left-hand column to narrow your search. Search using your keywords, then restrict your search to 'Scholarly & Peer-Review' (for example).

Scan entries for new terms to use in your next search.

Search everything.

Use Summon to search across the entire library catalog (books, DVDs, government documents) and most of the library databases (journal articles, images, newspapers).

Advanced Search

 

Locating Articles in Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar for a broader search. Set your browser settings so Google Scholar can let you know when its results are part of the library's collection.

If you want some insight on doing research at the university level, check out the tips and tutorials in our Introduction to Library Research.

If you find an article or book in Google Scholar you'd like to use that isn't in our collection, request it from another library.

Google Scholar Search

Using Specific Databases Instead of Summon

Remember that most databases search across disciplines. Pay attention to the names of the journals in your search results and chose articles suitable for your discipline.

Start with one of these databases:

Getting Articles That Are Not in the Library's Collection

I frequently use WorldCat to locate materials not in our library's collection. I find it especially useful for books. If you've never borrowed a book from another library, check out our guide to interlibrary loan (ILL). Or, go straight to the form.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility