To access online research databases at the Macdonald Kelce Library, login to Esearch using your Spartans domain/network username and password.
Access Medicine - a comprehensive online medical resource that includes leading medical textbooks, an extensive multimedia library, differential diagnosis tool, guidelines from Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care, diagnostic tests, customizable patient education, downloadable images, summaries of new medical studies, cases, and more.
Academic Search Complete - Select CHOOSE DATABASES at the top of the search box. Databases available to select from include: CINAHL, 3 Cochrane databases, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessments and General Science.
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examanition - Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.
Board Vitals - requires a user to click on a registration link from campus to complete the initial registration, and then after that is completed, the user can access Board Vitals from anywhere, via any device, using their email address and a password. Login at the Board Vitals homepage.
CINAHL – The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982. Offers complete coverage of English language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurse’s Association.
Cochrane Database of Systemic Reviews – Contains two databases Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects and Cochrane Controlled Trials Register. Data is evidence-based medicine, contains full-text articles as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
Health Reference Center – Provides access to full-text nursing and allied health journals from 1980 to present. Personal health information sources on topics such as: fitness, pregnancy, nutrition, diseases, public health and occupational health and safety.
Ovid - Limited number (120) of peer-reviewed, evidence-based journals including reference textbooks in this full-text database. The Joanna Briggs Evidence Based Practice database is included in Ovid (and also has its own link on the databases page).
Primal Pictures - (Powering Anatomy.TV) - Primal Pictures provide the world’s most medically accurate and detailed 3D graphic rendering of human anatomy based on imaging data. Each 3-D model has animations that demonstrate motion and biomechanics.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source – Under SEARCH SUBJECT AREAS select Health & Medicine. Full-text information from nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine and related publications. Coverage 1986-present.
PsychARTICLES - Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. This database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists. In 2006, the historical backfiles of the journals were added to the database.
PsychINFO - From the American Psychological Association, this database contains citations and summaries of articles from 1,700 journals, plus books, chapters, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and related fields, published worldwide from 1887-present. To get to PsychINFO, go to ProQuest, click on "Collections," and select PsychINFO.
PubMed - This database gives you access to the NLM's premier bibliographic database (MEDLINE) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE @ firstsearch contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 11 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
Science Direct – Under BROWSE PUBLICATIONS BY SUBJECT select Health Sciences. One of the world’s largest providers of scientific, technical and medical literature offering articles from nearly 2,500 journals and book chapters from 26,000 books. Coverage in the nursing and health-related professions.
UpToDate - UpToDate® is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 6,000 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality.