Skip to main content
UTIcon
Macdonald-Kelce Library

Communication

A guide for communication majors starting their research.

Websites

Center for Media Literacy - The Center for Media Literacy (CML) is dedicated to a new vision of literacy for the 21st Century: the ability to communicate competently in all media forms as well as to access, understand, analyze, evaluate and participate with powerful images, words and sounds that make up our contemporary mass media culture. Indeed, we believe these skills of media literacy are essential for both children and adults as individuals and as citizens of a democratic society.

Columbia Journalism Review  - "The Columbia Journalism Review is both a magazine (published 6 times a year) and an in-depth website. The CJR mission is: "to encourage and stimulate excellence in journalism in the service of a free society. It is both a watchdog and a friend of the press in all its forms, from newspapers to magazines to radio, television, and the Web." The print magazine was established 1961 at Columbia University's School of Journalism and the website provides the last ten years of back issues online. The CJR website also includes: blogs and regular columns as well as pages dedicated to politics and policy, business, science, the news biz, and the future of media. CJR also provides two page study guides for each edition of its print magazine. The study guides are a great place to find research questions for both writing papers and classroom discussion."  

The Communication Initiative (The CI) Network - "The Communication Initiative (The CI) Network according to its website: "is an online space for sharing the experiences of, and building bridges between, the people and organisations engaged in or supporting communication as a fundamental strategy for economic and social development and change." The website contains pages on HIV-AIDS, democracy and governance, media development, natural resource management and more."

Fairness & Accuracy In Reporting: The National Media Watch Group - FAIR, the national media watch group, has been offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986. They work to invigorate the First Amendment by advocating for greater diversity in the press and by scrutinizing media practices that marginalize public interest, minority and dissenting viewpoints. As an anti-censorship organization, they expose neglected news stories and defend working journalists when they are muzzled.

The Johns Hopkins University Center for Communication Programs - "The Johns Hopkins University Center for Communication Programs is dedicated to "advancing the science and art of strategic communication to improve health and save lives." On their home page you can find links to resources regarding: the CCP's projects and publications as well as career opportunities for health communication specialists."

Newseum  - "The Newseum, located in Washington, D.C. is a 250,000-square-foot museum of news -- offering visitors an experience that blends five centuries of news history with up-to-the-second technology and hands-on exhibits preserving the history of news. Its website provides information about visiting the Newseum along with pages on recent news (another good place to find ideas for research papers/projects), programs, and education materials for students and teachers. The website also provides links to the Freedom Forum, the Diversity Institute, and the First Amendment Center - these websites are also good places to take a look at a review on a regular basis."

Blogs

I'd Rather Be Writing - I'd Rather Be Writing is a blog written by Thomas Johnson, a technical writer, who has been "around the block" for a few years when it comes to his career in writing. Johnson writes about the latest trends in technical communication. I decided to add this blog to give students some ideas from a person who is out in the working world. Additionally, one of Johnson's jobs was as a technical writer for local Tampa company Raymond James. 

Crisis Blogger  - Crisis Blogger is written by Gerald Baron, an individual who has been involved in crisis management and crisis communication since the mid-1990s. He started his blog in 2006 and he describes his blog as innovative thinking on today's crisis communication challenges. Additionally, he occasionally includes book, technology, and website reviews.

Presentation Zen  - Presentation Zen is written by Garr Reynolds, a college professor who gives presentations around on the globe on design, branding, and effective corporation communications. Recent topics on his blog include: 10 great books to help you think, create, and communicate better in 2012, visual storytelling, education and videos, and more.

Podcasts

On The Media - "On the Media, is an NPR program that complements its weekly radio broadcasts via its website. The goal of OTM is to maintain the civility and fairness that are the hallmarks of public radio. OTM tackles sticky issues with a frankness and transparency that has built trust with listeners. The website provides access to the weekly OTM show's podcast as well as an archive to past shows. There is also a blog as well as a news column called "This Week." OTM is good place to start and to gather ideas for all kinds of communication assignments."

Crisis and Emergency Risk Communications: Best Practices - Crisis and Emergency Risk Communications: Best Practices is a podcast from the U.S. Center for Disease Control and Prevention.  Individuals hoping to work in the field of crisis communications may find this podcast helpful.

 

 

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility