What are open access databases?
A large number of research institutions, academic institutions, and government agencies around the world create databases that contain articles, documents and datasets on nearly every conceivable academic field. Many of these databases are available free on the World Wide Web through individual portals or websites, or can become part of a library-provided discovery service, such as ours, Summon. Some of these databases are discoverable in Summon, but others are not, or they provide more robust search features outside of Summon.
If you are interested in seeing a classified and categorized collection of linked Open Access Databases which you can access from a single portal, go to Listing of Open Access DataBases (LOADB).
To learn more about Open Access, visit our site on Open Access.
Open Access Databases in Summon
When you conduct a search in Summon, you will be able to discover content that is available from these databases. Do not assume that all of the content contained in these databases is 100% discoverable in Summon, and that sometimes by searching the open access database independently of Summon is the best way to assure that you have made a comprehensive, exhaustive search of the content available in that database (see list of Open Access Databases with robust search parameters to the right of this list).
Open Access Databases with Robust Search Parameters
These Open Access Databases, although their content is searchable in Summon, offer very robust or advanced search parameters, such as genre, series, popularity, and medical subject headings, if searched outside of Summon. They are also very large databases, consisting of more than a thousand titles each.
Advanced Search Options include:
Browse Options available:
Going directly to this platform allows the user more advanced search options, including searching by:
Search Filters for Cornell University Library include:
Go to DOAB platform to:
Some advanced search options include:
There are many advanced search options in EEBP including:
Search for journals on this platform by:
Browse Collections by: Painting, Architecture, Conservation, Open Access, Photographs, and Antiquities
Additional search facets on this platform include:
Advanced Search Options include searching by:
Browsing options include by:
A search on the National Library of Medicine's NCBI Bookshelf, offers the ability to browse by title and many advanced search options including:
MeSh Major Topic
The MOA platform offers additional searching techniques including:
If you go directly to this platform, in addition to searching by title, you can also search using these facets:
You can limit your search by:
Open Access Databases Outside of Summon
These Open Access Databases must be searched outside of Summon.