DRYAD - General purpose repository for data underlying scientific and medical publications, historically with a concentration in life sciences.
EarthChem.org - Community-driven preservation, discovery, access, and visualization of geochemical, geochronological, and petrological data.
Ecological Society of America Data Registry - Describes data sets on ecology and the environment that are associated with articles published in Ecological Society of America (ESA) journals.
Energy Information Administration - The U.S. Energy Information Administration is committed to enhancing the value of its free and open data by making it available through an Application Programming Interface (API) and open data tools. Download data files from this site.
EPA (Environmental Protection Agency) Envirofacts - The Envirofacts Multisystem Search integrates information from a variety of databases and includes latitude and longitude information. Each of these databases contains information about facilities that are required to report activity to a state or federal system. Using this form, you can retrieve information about hazardous waste (including the Biennial Report), toxic and air releases, Superfund sites, and water discharge permits. Facility information and a map of its location is provided.
HEPData - High Energy Physics open access Data Repository. Scattering data from published experimental particle physics papers, including Large Hadron Collider (LHC) data.
NASA Global Change Master Directory - The mission of the Global Change Master Directory is to offer a high quality resource for the discovery, access, and use of Earth science data and data-related services worldwide, while specifically promoting the discovery and use of NASA data as an integral part of NASA’s Earth Science Data and Information System (ESDIS) project.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) - Provides access to a variety of sources for biomedical, genomic, and proteomic data, including: Conserved Domain Database (CDD), GenBank, Gene, Database of Genotypes and Phenotypes (dbGaP), and more.
National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI), formerly National Climatic Data Center - NCEI, managed by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is the world’s largest provider of weather and climate data. Land-based, marine, model, radar, weather balloon, satellite, and paleoclimatic are just a few of the types of datasets available.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Data - Data measured or compiled and evaluated by the US National Institute of Standards and Technology, both free and for a fee. Includes chemical properties, physical constants, spectroscopic and thermodynamic data, and standard reference data.
National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC) - Databases for nuclear structure and decay and nuclear reactions.
National Water Information System (USGS) - Provides access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.9 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. Online access to this data is organized by subject.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory's Solar Resource Data and Tools - NREL provides solar resource data and tools to help energy system designers, building architects and engineers, renewable energy analysts, and others accelerate the integration of solar technologies on the grid.
Open Science Data Cloud - Cloud resource for storing, sharing, and analyzing scientific data sets.
PANGAEA - Collection of georeferenced data for earth and environmental sciences. Mostly open access with Creative Commons licenses, but access to data from in-progress research can be restricted.
R - R is a free software environment for statistical computing and graphics. It compiles and runs on a wide variety of UNIX platforms, Windows and MacOS. Choose a CRAN (Comprehensive R Archive Network) Mirror in the USA to download to your personal PC.
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) - Open downloadable datasets provided by the USDA
United States Geological Survey Data Catalog (USGS) - Open access data available from the USGS.
Wolfram MathWorld - Learn about statistics and probability in this comprehensive mathematics resource