Skip to main content
UTIcon
Macdonald-Kelce Library

Continuity of Library Services: Updates and FAQ

A guide on how the library can help you with online teaching and learning in Spring 2020. Please see ut.edu homepage for COVID-19 updates

Updates

Beginning Monday, July 27, Macdonald-Kelce is open to the UT community.

Curbside pickup is still available. Contact circulation for more information. Hours are 8 a.m. - 6 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays.

Circulation Desk: (813) 257-3056  Email: Library@ut.edu.

This fall the library will have a new front page. Check it out, and let us know what you think.

 

Many of Macdonald-Kelce’s services are available during the closure of the library in the wake of COVID-19. We continue to provide critical resources in a manner that maintains your safety and security. Our databases, digital collection, and reference assistance can be accessed remotely by phone, chat, or the library website. Check out our new FAQ to see if we have posted an answer to your question.

AUGUST UPDATE: Starting August 10, the Library building will be open to the UT community from Monday to Friday, 8:30AM - 5PM. Check updated hours here

The Library stacks will be closed for the Fall semester. Please visit circulation to have your books paged to you.

If you need to attend class remotely via Zoom, Circulation will provide you with disposable earbuds and request that you use the chat function while in class to limit noise. Individual study rooms are available if you need to talk. The library will also provide cleaning materials to use in these rooms if you request them. Thank you for your cooperation!


JULY 27 UPDATE: Beginning Monday, July 27, Macdonald-Kelce is open to the UT community. Curbside pickup is still available. Contact circulation for more information. Hours are 8 a.m. - 6 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays. Circulation Desk at (813) 257-3056 or email us at library@ut.edu.

JULY UPDATE: If you are having trouble accessing the databases on campus, please sign into MyUTampa. See our Database Access Issues page for known issues.

To schedule an appointment or request any circulating items from our collection, please call the Circulation Desk at (813) 257-3056 or email us at Library@ut.edu.


JUNE UPDATE: The Library is open for curbside delivery and will open on July 13 to the UT community by appointment. Starting immediately, we are taking requests for physical books through Interlibrary Loans. Requests can be made through the library website or via email at ILLBook@ut.edu. When your item arrives, we will contact you to schedule a pick-up time.

On Monday, June 22, the Library will begin curbside delivery and in-person pickup. No patrons will be allowed inside the building beyond the lobby. The lobby window will be open from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays.

Curbside delivery will take place from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays. Please call the Circulation Department up to 24 hours prior to your desired pick-up time.  We will need your Spartan ID number to place your requested items on hold.

When you arrive for pickup, call us at the same number that you will use to place your holds: (813) 257-3056. Staff will bring your bagged items to your vehicle. The same procedure and phone number will also be used to request items for lobby pickups.

Unneeded materials should be returned to the book drop located outside of the library entrance.  Returned items will be quarantined prior to re-circulation and they will remain on your library account until we are able to check them in. 

Please do not worry about overdue fines. We will waive fines for items that were checked out before the University closed in March.

To schedule an appointment or request any circulating items from our collection, please call the Circulation Desk at (813) 257-3056 or email us at Library@ut.edu.

 

Below are answers to some of the questions we've received and updates on services available to you. If the answer is not below contact a librarian, or see our new FAQ to see if we've answered your question there.

University COVID-19 Policies: Check UT's COVID-19 page for information about UT's response. See UT's Fall 2020 Opening for updates on the Fall semester.

Interlibrary loan : Patrons who are local can return their Interlibrary Loan items any time through the library's book drop located near the building entrance. If you are out of town, you can mail items back to the library or wait until you return to campus. You will not incur any late fees regardless of the due date. 

Request items via the Interlibrary loan form.

Sign into MyUTampa to access articles

Cross search the library catalog (books, DVDs, government documents) and most of the library databases (journal articles, images, newspapers).

Advanced Search

Find all of our contact information at our contact page.
The contact page includes a chat function to get research help from a librarian.

Chat with a Librarian

Email a Librarian

If no one is available through chat you can send us a message here and we'll get back to you as soon as one of our reference librarians gets back online.

       

FAQ

For a more answers check out our new FAQ.

 

Q: Is the library open?

A: Beginning Monday, July 27, Macdonald-Kelce is open to the UT community. Curbside pickup is still available. Contact circulation for more information. Hours are 8 a.m. - 6 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays. Circulation Desk at (813) 257-3056 or email us at library@ut.edu. 

Remote library services such as reference (chat and email) and ILL requests continue and are encouraged.

 

Q: Can I extend the due date on my book?

A: Late fines will not be issued and due dates will be extended. You can either return books in the front drop off or by mail. Contact the Circulation Desk at (813) 257-3056 or email us at library@ut.edu with questions about returning items, or extending due dates.

Q: How can I check out a book?

A: Beginning on Monday, June 22, curbside delivery will take place from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays. Please call the Circulation Department at (813) 257-3056 up to 24 hours prior to your desired pick-up time.  We will need your Spartan ID number to place your requested items on hold.

When you arrive for pickup, call us at the same number that you will use to place your holds: (813) 257 - 3056. Staff will bring your bagged items to your vehicle. 

Q: Can I drop my books off when the library is closed?

A: Yes, please use the book drop box to the left of the front doors of the MKL building.

Q: Can I use interlibrary loan?

A: Starting immediately, we are taking requests for physical books through Interlibrary Loans. Requests can be made through the library website via the online interlibrary loan formor via email at ILLBook@ut.edu. When your item arrives, we will contact you to schedule a pick-up time. Some libraries may still be closed to lending, so expect delays or unavailability. 

Q: I have an interlibrary loan book that is due. How do I return it?

A: Please drop off all ILL books in the book drop located in the front of the library entrance, or mail the book if you are off campus and don't expect to return soon. 

Q: Can I check out a laptop?

A: Laptops are available to check out. Please see our Continuity of Services Guide for more information about how to make an appointment for checking out laptops.

Q: How do I access course reserves?

A: If you're having trouble access something on reserves, or need to ask about placing something on reserve, contact a librarian.

Q: Can I get research help?

A: Yes! Contact a librarian through chat or email.

Q: I can't get to a database.

A: Contact a librarian. Known issues with database connections are posted at the Database Access Issues page. Double-check to make sure you are logged into MyUTampa.

Q: Can I still schedule a one-on-one meeting with a librarian?
A: Yes. Use the chat function on our contact page to connect with the librarian on call. Or use the contact page to get in touch with a particular librarian. Chat can be either by text or video.

Q: I think I left a personal belonging in the library; is there any way to check/retrieve it?
A: All library lost and found items have been turned over to campus security. Contact the security office at (813) 257-7777.

Services

Reference/Research Help: Reference/Research help is available. Contact a librarian.

Research Guides: You may find some useful information in our collection of research guides.

Computer Labs: Computer Labs are available.

Laptop Checkout: Laptop Checkout is available.

Reserves: For questions about reserves contact Darrin White at dwhite@ut.edu.

Library Instruction: We can provide a video presentation via Zoom. Contact David Davisson at ddavisson@ut.edu.

Government Documents: Most government documents are available online.

Gift books: To donate items to the library contact Jeanne Vince at jvince@ut.edu.

Database Access

You should still have access to the entire database collection. Sign into Esearch/MyUTampa to browse all library databases, or search Summon to cross-search many of the databases at once.

For more help with finding eBooks or films see the eBooks, Online Periodicals and Streaming Services guide. 

If you are having trouble accessing a database contact one of the librarians through chat or email.

Macdonald-Kelce Library - The University of Tampa - 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. - Tampa, FL 33606 - 813 257-3056 - library@ut.edu - Accessibility